The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Time always wrong

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by calande2, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. calande2

    calande2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Everyday in WHM server config I have to reset the clock. I select the right geographical reason, click "Submit", and also the sync option. Then I make sure the time is properly set, reloading the page. The day after, the time is always 15mins ahead:confused:
    What should I do? TIA,
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Run this command, manually, to sync your clock with cPanel using rdate:

    rdate -s rdate.darkorb.net

    For more information about this symptom, read this posting:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showpost.php?p=184924&postcount=8
     
  3. calande2

    calande2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  4. calande2

    calande2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  5. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To me that sounds like a hardware problem, possibly a clock drift during the day. If that's the case you should notice the time drifting a little during the day, and the time difference getting larger as time goes on. If it is a hardware problem, you can do a few things to help with that, but ultimately you're going to need the clock to be looked at.

    In the meantime, you could run the rdate command every hour from crontab. Not a solution at all, but might help for the next few days until you come to terms with it. If the clock is drifting 15 minutes a day (39 seconds per hour) you may even want to run rdate every 30 minutes. Don't do this for long as a hardware clock problem could be symptomatic of other issues!
     
  6. calande2

    calande2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you. What possible problems may arise from a clock problem?
     
Loading...

Share This Page