The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Time on forums

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shamrocks, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. shamrocks

    shamrocks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I was wondering if or how I can fix the time on our forums. The reason I ask is because it is showing to be 20 minutes out, which is an odd number. Any ideas or suggestions?
     
  2. adept2003

    adept2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ~ "/(extra|special)/data"
    What makes you say it's the forums that are 20 minutes out? Take a look at the footer of the page, and you will see the time, which should be the same as your own PC's.
     
  3. shamrocks

    shamrocks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    Well when I go the forums, www.xhl.biz/STHS/forums the time that shows is 9:10am and the time on my pc is 10:30, so it is 1hr and 20 mins difference. I'm not worried about the 1hr issue as it is just the time setting I have chosen for the forums, but the 20 minutes difference I do not understand. "The time now is Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:10 am".
     
  4. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This isn't really a CPanel problem, but a forum administration problem, maybe even a server time problem.

    If you have root access, you can try the following:
    Login as root to ssh
    enter the following code into the command line:
    Code:
    rdate -s rdate.cpanel.net&
    
    This should fix your server's date issues.
     
  5. shamrocks

    shamrocks Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks twhitting. I'm not the most experienced person, but I am an adminstator of the forums, and am the one of theguys that have access to the Cpanel index.. Saying that, I'm not sure what you mean by what you said. Where do I go to log in as root?
     
  6. mctDarren

    mctDarren Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This would have to be done by the server administrator. If that's not you, contact them. He's telling you to login to the server using the command shell and execute the text given on the command line. It can't be done through WHM/Cpanel. You should probably contact your hosting provider if you don't run the server yourself.
     
Loading...

Share This Page