Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Timed out while sending IM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sneader, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel 11 server, R19407, getting the following when it tries to send me an AIM and/or ICQ:

    Timed out while sending IM. at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/icontact_sendim line 106.
    Timed out while sending IM. at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/icontact_sendim line 106.

    Perhaps I need to open up certain ports on the firewall, but can't seem to find this information on the forums or in the WHM documentation.

    Any tips would be appreciated.

    - Scott
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried opening the default ports used by AIM and/or ICQ?
     
  3. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't suppose you want to save me the research time, and tell me what TCP port(s) to use? Anything inbound, or just outbound only? Any docs on this feature?

    Thanks!

    - Scott
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A quick Google search reveals the following:

    AIM: typically 5190 but can be anything 5190-5193. ICQ nowadays seems to use the same ports.
     
  5. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks David. I've changed the firewall to allow TCP 5190 outbound. Will see how that works. I tried to figure out how to test it via command line, but couldn't figure it out. Any docs on this feature?

    - Scott
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice