The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TLS/SSL support with ProFTPd

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ebradsha, Nov 15, 2003.

  1. ebradsha

    ebradsha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've been trying to get TLS/SSL enabled on ProFTPd, but with every attempt I make I'm tharwarted with the usual FTP client error message:

    220 ProFTPD 1.2.8 Server (ProFTPD) [censored.net]
    AUTH TLS
    500 AUTH not understood

    I've scoured this forums and other places, but I haven't been able to find a standard procedure to enable TLS support on ProFTPd. Does anyone have a solution for this problem of mine?

    Thanks in advance for any replys.
     
  2. ebradsha

    ebradsha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do have the following entries in my proftpd.conf

    <IfModule mod_tls.c>
    TLSEngine on
    TLSProtocol TLSv1
    TLSRequired off
    TLSRSACertificateFile /etc/ftpd-rsa.pem
    TLSRSACertificateKeyFile /etc/ftpd-rsa-key.pem
    TLSVerifyClient off
    </IfModule>
     
  3. markie

    markie BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the account Jailed? Check to make sure the account does not have JAILSHELL set in manage jailed accounts in WHM. TLS does not work if the account is jailed.
     
  4. ebradsha

    ebradsha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope, I have root access to this server, and the person who's trying to connect via ssl FTP has a regular shell.
     
  5. markie

    markie BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure that users account is not jailed. Sometimes even if it says its not jailed it is. A bug!
     
  6. ebradsha

    ebradsha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I checked by logging into their shell, it's definently not jailed. The server they were on before only have them a jailed shell and they were still able to use TLS/SSL upon logging into their FTP.
     
  7. markie

    markie BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On Cpanel i have never been able to us it if my account was jailed. Search the forums. TLS/SSL has not been implamented via Jailshell and you will find many requests for it. I personally unjailed my own account on my server and i had no issue with logging in but it did give me access to roam my entire server directories and this did not look like a great option to give others.
     
  8. ebradsha

    ebradsha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok... this problem doesn't have anything to do with a jailed shell because no one has a jailed shell on this server. Correct me if I'm mistaken.
     
  9. markie

    markie BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I though you were referring to sftp via SSL.
     
  10. ebradsha

    ebradsha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Oh ok, now I understand. Nah I'm just trying to get TLS/SSL supprt enabled for regular FTP.
     
  11. tcwebguy

    tcwebguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump

    Any resolution to this issue?

    I get the error, but the connection seems to be accepted. Does that mean that the connection is not secure?
     
Loading...

Share This Page