The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

To update or not to update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by verdon, Mar 15, 2004.

  1. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm pretty much a noob compared to many of the people here, but I do try to be diligent :)

    I pay attention to my WHM news and troll these forums regularily. When the first security notice came out last week, I immediately disabled my change pass by email option and managed to avoid the forced upgrade. From reading here, I assume that means I am not vulnerable, but should eventually update for a permanent fix.

    There's also a lot of reports here of people having trouble with the updates. Some people have had no trouble with Stable, others have had to go to Release to get things working. Although also hard to tell, it also seems that the people who have had trouble with the updates may be those who have modified or by-passed core cPanel files.

    So my question, when to update? I only have on box and no test server to play with. I really don't want to take down my customer's domains. I'm not hugely experienced with *nix admin and although I prefer to do some stuff via shell, I'm leary of starting an update that may take lots of work in terminal to repair. I gues I'm just a big chicken ;)

    I currently am running,

    WHM 8.8.0 cPanel 8.8.0-R10__
    RedHat 8.0 - WHM X v2.1.2_

    I believe I am secure from the recent threats at the moment. Should I wait for another build or two in the Stable tree before I go for it?

    Thanks for any opinions and advice. I don't imagine I'm the only user with these doubts. Salut,
     
  2. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Uh, yeah you need to upgrade to at least the latest stable, you are still open to an exploit, not the resetpass one, but the login one :)

    Upgrade to latest stable.
     
  3. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you
     
  4. BrightAdmin

    BrightAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Verdon,

    It is recommended that unless you get any vulnerability, do not upgrade or apply any patch.

    Regards,

    Bright:)
     
  5. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oops, too late :)

    I did the update yesterday afternoon. Actually didn't go too badly. It timed out using whm to do it, but running upcp via terminal seemed to do the job.

    One odd thing, even though I have my prefs set to stick to Stable, Release is the build that the updater installed. I think this was being done on cPanel's end though. I can only guess there is something wrong with Stable and they don't want people using it?? I'd like to get back to Stable at some point, but don't think I'll downgrade. I would imagine that at some point, the current (or future) Release will be deemed Stale and moved to that branch?

    Salut,
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    And how does he get new features?
     
  7. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is absurd, please don't listen to this person, they obviously have no diea what they are talking about.

    Not to mention, who exactly is recommending this?
     
    #7 nickn, Mar 16, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2004
  8. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    hmm..

    You definitely should've gotten stable, check /etc/cpupdate.conf

    Paste us that file.
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    New features bring bugs. That would mean another update, and well, it's just not recommended.;)
     
  10. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks,

    In my WHM 'Change Update Preferences' it is set to;
    Cpanel/WHM Updates: Manual Updates Only (STABLE tree)

    In '/etc/cpupdate.conf';
    hmmm.... I don't seem to have one

    when I do a locate for cpupdate I get;
    /var/log/cpupdate.log
    /root/.cpupdates
    /root/.cpupdates/rpmdb-provides.mtime
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.provides
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.updates
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.provides.index
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.requires.index
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.requires
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.installed
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.locprovides
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.locprovides.index
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.locproviders
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.locproviders.index
    /root/.cpupdates/rpmdb-requires.mtime
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.locrequires
    /root/.cpupdates/3-15-2004.locrequires.index

    but nothing about .conf
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cat /etc/cpupdate.conf

    CPANEL=current
    RPMUP=daily
    SYSUP=daily

    You can add it manually if needed. Once you copy the above into /etc/cpupdate.conf recheck your preferences and run /scripts/updatenow and /scripts/upcp
     
  12. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks dg :)

    I haven't run the update yet, but creating the file worked. I verified and edited settings in whm after creating the file and the changes were reflected in the conf file, so I know it is being read now.

    I initially put in the lines you suggested above, which set my prefs to auto update current branch, then using whm changed my prefs to manual stable for cpanel. This changed my conf file to;
    CPANEL=manual
    RPMUP=daily
    SYSUP=daily

    I guess that implies that stable is the default branch?

    I've read a lot of your posts and respect your opinion. What is your opinion on current vs stable? I'm not a full-time admin (though it seems to be getting that way ;) and tend to be a little conservative. WHM reccomends stable for people like me and current seems higher on the risk scale. I would appreciate your thoughts?

    Best regards from 390 km north of you,
    verdon
     
  13. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Dg likes the current one because it's the most frequently updated auto one.

    Some people prefer the stable because, as it's name implies, it should be stable, and therefore nothing to worry about. Sometimes stable does have bugs though, and that means a longer wait for repairs, or a manual update to fix. With the current release, problems are fixed much faster. Most people hardly ever have any major problems with any of them so by using release, you keep the most up to date.

    I use manual release because it gets fixed faster than stable when there is a problem, and by doing it manually, if a problem comes up, I just switch to current and update again and it's usually fixed.
     
  14. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the tips squirrel :)

    Just curious not snooping, what part of ON are you in, I'm in North Bay.
     
  15. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Currently Brockville. Going to somewhere between London and Hamilton very soon.

    That area will be less boring.
     
  16. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Verdon;

    Squirrel is right, we run current or edge on our servers, but we also do all of our own admin. Stable or Release are supposed to be the ones with the most testing done. I though do not think or see that any are the "right one" for all. It is a matter of what you are confortable with. In case for example we also have test servers so we do some testing of our own.

    We are not just cPanel servers we run servers for other companies using lots of different software, so we are pretty much okay with running the more recent updates.

    Like Squirrel said though bugs can come up in any of the updates and depending on the impact depends on how long it takes to get through Edge, Current, Release, and Stable.
     
Loading...

Share This Page