The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tomcat 4.0.3 build

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by blueshift, Nov 16, 2002.

  1. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone know where to download the 4.0.3 build for Tomcat? The latest version is so problematic that I just reversed back to 3.0.
     
  2. Shikha

    Shikha Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I suppose, it should be at http://layer1.cpanel.net/

    By the way, what problem you are getting with Tomcat? Is that related to memory (RAM)?

    Thanks.

    Shikha
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    [quote:ccc81177a1][i:ccc81177a1]Originally posted by blueshift[/i:ccc81177a1]

    Anyone know where to download the 4.0.3 build for Tomcat? The latest version is so problematic that I just reversed back to 3.0.[/quote:ccc81177a1]

    We have a copy of 4.0.3 available at the following address;

    http://www.virtual-hosting.ca/jsp-install-4.x.tar.gz
     
  4. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The technical issue is that it cannot be run on the port specified in server.xml. But no matter how i configure the server.xml the problem still exists. I give up. I will upgrade to 4.0.3 instead.
     
  5. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey I have problem running 4.0.3 too. Do you know any special instructions that I need to do before I can get this up and running? Right now, but JSP scripts are returning an Internal Server Error. Please help. thanks so much.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Make sure the jsp's are owned by the correct user.
     
  7. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    By meaning owned by the correct user, you mean the scripts should be owned by the user who uploads it? E.g. if user root uploads a JSP script, it should be owned by root right?
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    No, if root uploads to /home/user1/www you need to chown the jsp to user1.
     
  9. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    then it shouldn't be the user.. since my users' home directories have the same names as their usernames. So user root has /home/root as its home directory. So automatically the owner is correct. Any other reasons why JSP does not work properly?
     
  10. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Since HTTP is the one who runs it, does that mean &nobody& should own it?
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    No,

    Okay let me try to explain. HTTP does not run it, a jsp is called through the browser and the tomcat engine renders the code to screen. When we say owner we are talking about the owner of the domain space that it is in, for example;

    For *.jsp in /home/user1/www

    chown user1:user1 *.jsp

    Also make sure in /home/user1/www you have the following directory structure,

    /home/user1/www/WEB-INF/
    /home/user1/www/WEB-INF/classes
    /home/user1/www/WEB-INF/lib

    In httpd.conf for the domain that requires JSP make sure the following exists for that virtualhost.

    & IfModule mod_jk.c &
    JkMount /*.jsp ajp13
    JkMount /servlet/* ajp13
    JkMount /servlets/* ajp13
    & /IfModule &


    In the server.xml make sure the following exists.

    & Host name=&domain.com& appBase=&/home/user1/public_html&&
    & Context path=&& reloadable=&true& docBase=&/home/user1/public_html& debug=&1&/&
    & /host &
    & Host name=&www.domain.com& appBase=&/home/user1/public_html&&
    & Context path=&& reloadable=&true& docBase=&/home/user1/public_html& debug=&1&/&
    & /host &

    Note there are two entries, one with www one without.

    These are the first things to check when having issues with jsp's.
     
  12. blueshift

    blueshift Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes what you said just means what I said. Since when WHM creates an account with the username 'user1', it creates the directory /home/user1. So when FTP user user1 uploads a JSP script to public_html, it's automatically owned by user1. So in other words, when it's uploaded by user1, it does not need to be chowned again. Let me know if I am wrong.

    When you use the Install Servlets plugin in WHM, it automatically inserts
    & IfModule mod_jk.c &
    JkMount /*.jsp ajp13
    JkMount /servlet/* ajp13
    JkMount /servlets/* ajp13
    & /IfModule &

    as well as
    & Host name=&domain.com& appBase=&/home/user1/public_html&&
    & Context path=&& reloadable=&true& docBase=&/home/user1/public_html& debug=&1&/&
    & /host &
    & Host name=&www.domain.com& appBase=&/home/user1/public_html&&
    & Context path=&& reloadable=&true& docBase=&/home/user1/public_html& debug=&1&/&
    & /host &

    So I don't think the problem is an issue with the owner of the file, nor the missing of the required codes in httpd.conf and server.xml. Are there any other possibilities?

    Thank you once again. I really appreciated you guys helping me.
     
  13. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Check to see if there is anything in this directory,

    /usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.0/build/work/domain.com/_/

    When you call a jsp page the corresponding java code should be here.

    This will tell you if tomcat is even trying to render the page at all.

    Also check the Tomcat logs for any loader errors and such.
     
Loading...

Share This Page