The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tomcat entry missing within (or moved from?) WHM --> cPanel --> Plugins

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rsilviu, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. rsilviu

    rsilviu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Romania
    Hello,

    I can't find Tomcat within WHM --> cPanel --> Plugins.

    I'm running
    WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.6.0-R15076
    REDHAT Enterprise 4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Any idea beside manually install Tomcat?
    There was an installer at a certain point in time.
     
  2. Craigles

    Craigles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep, i'll put my hands up on this one as well.

    I was like, WTF where the hell is the cat?
    It's always under Plugins and it's MIA at the moment.

    Anyone got an idea on how to install it manually??

    Ta,
    Craig
     
  3. Craigles

    Craigles Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is what I got in response from cPanel Techs.

    // ------------------------ //

    Hello,

    Tomcat was removed because it was VERY outdated and broken. Tomcat support has been included in the Easyapache 3 installer which is available in EDGE only currently. To find out when Easyapache 3 will make it into the different tree's, please visit http://www.cpanel.net/cpanel11 and see STAGE 2.

    Thank you.
     
  4. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    one client's tomcat sites have stopped working since this.. was a live site.. this is not good.
     
    #4 nettigritty, Aug 2, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2007
  5. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    ok .. i dont see tomcat in edge .. am i missing something here?
     
  6. okeith

    okeith Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Error on /usr/local/jakarta/tomcat/conf/web.xml

    Hi,

    this morning after the usual upcp we found that tomcat wasn't working properly, logs/catalina.out had this:

    java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: addChild: Child name 'httpservlet' is not unique

    It seems conf/web.xml had a double listing of these two servlet definitions:

    <servlet>
    <servlet-name>httpservlet</servlet-name>
    <servlet-class>
    org.apache.catalina.servlets.InvokerServlet
    </servlet-class>
    <init-param>
    <param-name>debug</param-name>
    <param-value>0</param-value>
    </init-param>
    <load-on-startup>2</load-on-startup>
    </servlet>

    <servlet>
    <servlet-name>httpservlets</servlet-name>
    <servlet-class>
    org.apache.catalina.servlets.InvokerServlet
    </servlet-class>
    <init-param>
    <param-name>debug</param-name>
    <param-value>0</param-value>
    </init-param>
    <load-on-startup>2</load-on-startup>
    </servlet>

    Once the second one pair was removed and restarted tomcat it started working again, not sure if that's of use to anyone, just thought I'd post...
     
  7. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
  8. subhashp

    subhashp Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks this fixed my problem also

    Thanks this fixed my problem also
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just spoke with the developers about this as I was a little freaked out about this.

    They're working on new installers and polishing things up quite a bit for cPanel 11 Stage 2. Basically things in their current state were so broken that it was decided to remove the installer functionality until the fix can propagate through the builds (note, this only affects the installer - if you use these modules already they will not cease functioning).

    You can still install Tomcat, mod_resin and mod_mono manually in the meantime. However, cPanel 11 Stage 2 will introduce far improved installation functionality and remove the "BETA" label from these items.

    It will be a lot better once it's all done, in the meantime just sit tight :).
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    UPDATE: The developers are restoring the old installers due to popular demand for them.
     
  11. nilesh_kolte

    nilesh_kolte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pune ,India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Tomcat is not working with Cpanel.. Any ETA when it will be fixed. I have reinstalled tomcat manually on server, But still the same problem.
     
  12. Shamele

    Shamele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here. Tomcat broke after latest cPanel upgrade.

    ***FIXED***
    After the Tomcat was added back to the install tool with the latest upgrade, I was able to uninstall and reinstall it. Everything works now.
     
    #12 Shamele, Aug 3, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2007
  13. Shaya

    Shaya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have uninstalled and reinstalled tomcat from CPanel Plugins and It returns this:

    The Tomcat addon module has been temporarily disabled.
    It will reappear once EasyApache with Apache 2 support
    has been released.

    Please let me know how you could install it from WHM.
     
  14. Shaya

    Shaya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone have any fix for this?!!
     
    #14 Shaya, Aug 7, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2007
  15. raman

    raman Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    kochi
    Please help

    Any updates on this.. or steps to fix this.......:confused:
     
  16. denisdekat09

    denisdekat09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I also have the same problem.

    I got these instruction after trying to run the install manually:

    If you look at /usr/local/cpanel/modules-install/tomcat-Linux-i686/install you
    will see on line 24 contains the output you see while trying to execute this
    script, comment out starting at line 24 though the __END__ statement and you
    should be able to install tomcat again.

    But they did not work. Ironically, I only run updates manually and had the version of Cpanel just how I liked it. But some feature stopped working and they suggested and upgrade. Post the upgrade Tomcat broke and they fed me that the line that it is not supported. I find this highly irresponsible really...
     
  17. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    does anyone have a solution to this as i just uninstalled to reinstall it to correct an issue and now i cant do that and all clients sites are down

    surely theres a solution?

    Im running C16104

    I tried the above suggestion and got:

     
    #17 Snowman30, Aug 8, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2007
  18. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    i'm trying to reinstall now it says:
    The Tomcat addon module has been temporarily disabled.

    how to fix this?
     
  19. GordonH

    GordonH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  20. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The developers have once again disabled the functionality due to the support issues that have arisen from the installer. This functionality will be available via EasyApache3 in Stage 2 of cPanel 11 (note, it is already available in EDGE).
     
Loading...

Share This Page