The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tomcat / JSP running as root?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by svedo, Jun 12, 2003.

  1. svedo

    svedo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    Hey all,

    I've searched around to no avail so im posting here. We installed JSP 4.0.3 that another user posted on here (dbaker? i think?) anyway, i've noticed that the java processes are being run as root. :eek:

    Is there a way to get these to processes to be run as each individual site's user? or at least its own 'tomcat' user? not liking it running as root and i dont know much bout tomcat/jsp/java.

    any help would be appreciated :)

    cheers

    -sc

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. svedo

    svedo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    *bump*

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. acetate

    acetate Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    *bump*

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. probonic

    probonic Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You need to edit the "tomcat4.conf" file (it's in /etc/tomcat4 on my system), and simply change the "TOMCAT_USER" to "tomcat4". Of course you need to make sure the user tomcat4 exists before you do this ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. svedo

    svedo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    What version of Tomcat are you using? And did you use the one that cPanel distributed?

    Cause i have no conf file for tomcat on my box.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    svedo,

    Did you get this figured out? I've found some stuff, but nothing useful.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. [iGri]

    [iGri] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how do i create the user tomcat and what permissions should be given?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. svedo

    svedo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    still in the same spot i was 3 mths ago mate :( I've found info too but none of it seems to work... i dunno what else to do

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. [iGri]

    [iGri] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  10. svedo

    svedo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    i personally havn't tried that... what about you casey? if not, i'll give it a try in the morning, and see where taht takes us.

    thanks for that link mate.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I wouldn't use the first guy's suggestion. I'm sure it's very secure, but if I understand correctly, each of those users will own 64M of your memory. So if you have 256M RAM and 8 tomcat users, then you can have no other customers on the box, and you will additionally have to purchase more RAM so that the server can perform its functions.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. Hoojx

    Hoojx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So, what's the final solution that you all have used ?

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page