The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tomcat Jsp Servlet Support

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Planet_Master, Sep 6, 2004.

  1. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    I just upgraded my personal server to cPanel 9.9.0-E26 and noticed in WHM under add-on modules there is a new add-on for Tomcat, to my surprise, amongst other new modules for stats and logs..

    Name: tomcat
    Author: cPanel Inc.
    Version: 0.7-5.0.28
    Description: Tomcat Jsp Servlet Support !!BETA (almost)!!
    Price: free

    Does anyone know what this is exactly? I havent enabled it yet because would like more info first. Anything Dgbaker, casey????
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'll take a look at it on Tuesday. Very interesting indeed. I guess that means that cPanel has now got to support Tomcat. :D
     
  3. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Wow. It worked for me, and it's running as tomcat.
     
  4. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker

    What do you mean it worked? Does it install Tomcat? Whats deal man...share
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Yes, it installs tomcat 5.0.28 and runs it as the user tomcat. Quite simply, it works! The same restrictions apply, though. public_html must still be chmod'ed 755 for it to work.
     
  6. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker

    WOW, that sounds like a very good thing. I will certainly test this out. One thing does it work under all OS's? Red Hat 9 and RHE 3...etc

    This may put dgbaker out of work! :rolleyes:
     
  7. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try uninstalling and reinstalling if this is the case (you have stuff left over from a previous install) as it should work without the 755.
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Should work under everything but freebsd
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I probably do. Thanks. I'll try that.
     
  10. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    Well not jumping for joy yet...I ran the installer on RH9 Apache1.31 server and it nicely installed and compiled Java SDK, mod_JK connectors and Tomcat 5.28.

    Now after that was completed I checked to see if Apache was running and all was good. Installed servlets on a test JSP account and then restarted the Tomcat server.

    The result was this:
    http://music-axis.com/home.jsp

    Obviously not the desired outcome.
    Noticed a few things as well. The Java SDK is installed in /usr/local/j2sdk1.4.2_05 not in the usual /usr/java

    Also noticed there is no shortcut to jre in /usr/local
    So I ran in shell ln -s /usr/local/j2sdk1.4.2_05/jre/ /usr/local/jre because of habit. Need this for JDBC support.

    Casey did your JSP's start working immediately or did you need to go to the Tomcat manager and add them manually?
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    If you've had tomcat installed before, try uninstalling, then reinstalling to make sure there are no lingering artifacts.
     
  12. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Started working immediately. This was on CentOS, though.
     
  13. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    There will always be issues with it. ;)
     
  14. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  15. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did the uninstall/reinstall take care of the 755 problem ?
     
  16. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker

    I did that and it is working now. Added the JDBC drivers and did a restart and lovely is the word!

    Thx bdraco and the cPanel team for keeping us in the dark on the changes only to surprise us with something very special...>Cheers!!! :D
     
  17. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    No, actually it didn't.
     
  18. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    If you like put a ticket in and email me the # (nick@cpanel.net)
     
  19. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    I take it back. After restarting tomcat, it does, indeed work. :embarrassed:
     
  20. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    works well on Cent OS 3.1

    It also removes dgbaker's 5.0.19 and replaces it with 5.0.28 in the same /usr/local/jakarta/tomcat
     
Loading...

Share This Page