The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tomcat problems

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by Karthick, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. Karthick

    Karthick Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How to resolve some Tomcat problems

    Hello,

    I've come across a few problems with Tomcat.

    When re-installing, tomcat hangs at Java install:

    # rm -rf /usr/local/jdk1.5.0_02

    and try again, it should work just fine.

    I can't start tomcat after re-installing tomcat on cPanel 10.6.0

    This is the reason people get internal server errors when trying to load JSP pages.

    Run:

    # /usr/local/jakarta/tomcat/bin/startup.sh

    When you access the JSP file on a users account, it says 404; as if it is trying to load from the root path.

    What's happening here is that server.xml file seems to only write domain.com, and if you access it via www.domain.com, there's no entry for that, so it looks for the file in the root host path and you get a 404. If you access it via http://domain.com/something.jsp (without www; it should work fine).

    I'm not sure if you can use wildcards in server.xml but simply copying and pasting (adding below) the existing vhost and adding the www. to the second host works.

    For e.g. in server.xml, you may have the following:

    Code:
    <Host name="domain.com" appBase="/home/user/public_html">
          <Context path="" reloadable="true" docBase="/home/user/public_html" debug="1"/>
       </Host>
    Add below it:

    Code:
    <Host name="[b][u]www.[/u][/b]domain.com" appBase="/home/user/public_html">
          <Context path="" reloadable="true" docBase="/home/user/public_html" debug="1"/>
       </Host>

    Hopefully this will be helpful to someone.
     
    #1 Karthick, Aug 25, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2005
  2. miskox

    miskox Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    me too

    I am having the same issue.
     
  4. Gigabean

    Gigabean Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    we hare having the same problem here also, after the upgrade to 10.6
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Do you guys realize that he is posting solutions to problems? He has solved his problems by the methods stated. Responses like, "I'm having the same problem" do not make sense. To what are you referring?
     
  6. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    He is posting a work around. If I wanted to manually edit all of my coniguration files I would not purchase a control panel! It's amazing, Bind, Apache, Tomcat, Mysql, exim, etc run without cpanel if you edit the files manually.
     
  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    That's why it's in beta. ;)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Tomcat problems
  1. htmldesign
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    499

Share This Page