Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Too easy to delete public_html via FTP user window

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by akmiecik, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. akmiecik

    akmiecik Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Was creating FTP user to access public_html.
    CPanel FTP Accoutns creates user and automatically creates directory with user name.
    I wanted to access public_html to I deleted the user name in the direcotry field.
    Had issues with FileZilla so, not thinking, I decided to start over and went and deleted the user which, in turn, deleted public_html (yea, there is a confirmation screen but, since I had just done it for the personal FTP directory I was not paying attention)

    Bottom line:
    It was far to easy to delete the public_html directory via this process. Is there way you can prevent the public_html directory from being deleted via the FTP Accounts screen?

    Thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,518
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not that I'm aware of.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sondzin

    sondzin Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So, you are not aware of how to prevent the entire contents of the public_html directory from being deleted when you are just deleting a single FTP account from within Cpanel? How could that be?

    Our hosting company suggested that it may be an intended behavior. I find that idea to be ludicrous and extremely dangerous!

    If, when deleting an individual FTP account, which consists of a separate directory from public_html, the entire contents of the public_html directory is removed, then that function is BROKEN!

    WHY does this happen? Why are you not aware of something being done to fix it?

    I would love to know the answer to these questions.

    Thanks,
    David
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,518
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If, when deleting an additional FTP account normally, when you click delete, a large options screen expands and displays two messages:

    Delete account accountname?

    And

    Delete account accountname
    and delete all files under
    /home/username/accountname ?

    Your next click, decides what happens to your files.

    I don't see anything broken in either of those messages that are clear, and plain to see.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice