Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

too many /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd-DSSL ?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by jimjoe, Sep 12, 2003.

  1. jimjoe

    jimjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    For about the last month, when i look at cpu usage, i have started seeing a new process...
    /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd-DSSL
    At first it was only about 10 of them, but now there are always about 60 going on the server at once.

    What are these and are they bad?
     
  2. matthewdavis

    matthewdavis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    NC, USA
    They are web server processes. I've seen those processes get fairly high before. That just means your having a lot of traffic to the sites you host.

    Please see my recent post about OpenSSL issues here - http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=14668 And make sure you haven't been hacked. It's possiable for hackers to be running processes that look like web servers.
     
    #2 matthewdavis, Sep 13, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2003
  3. jimjoe

    jimjoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    thanks for the information matthew.

    When i go to your previously unedited url it didn't work. Thanks for fixing (below)

    thanks! Jim

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #3 jimjoe, Sep 13, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2003
  4. matthewdavis

    matthewdavis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Oops. I guess I should look more closely at what I paste. I edited my post to give the correct URL. Can you do the same? At least edit your last post and remove that URL?

    Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. fgauthier

    fgauthier Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    This is something you can adjust in httpd.conf, under MaxChildProcess

    regards,

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page