Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Took too long to respond errors on several sites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Diggster, Jun 10, 2018.

  1. Diggster

    Diggster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    edmonton
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have come across a strange problem - If anyone has any insight please point me in the right direction.

    Half the sites on the server connect no problem. Another half result with "took too long to respond". It is not a local issue as proxying the sites has same results.

    The question is Why some sites and not others? Research all says to flush DNS and restart the computer, routers, etc. Have done all that.

    CSF is not installed - have never touched iptables - why might this start happening?
     
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can you ensure they are resolving to your server, this way you can rule out that the issue may be else where.

    Are the sites similar, all running WordPress for example? Use similar plugins? You can try renaming the plugins folder to anything else, and clearing any cache in the wp-content/cache/ folder then try hitting the site again, does it time out?

    Obviously if its not WP, that doesn't apply, but are they PHP based? If so, you can try hitting the site, then use

    Code:
    ps aux |grep php |grep user
    find the PHP process for that user / script

    and run

    Code:
    lsof -p $pid
    replace $pid with the pid # of that process.

    You have to run lsof before it times out, then check the output and look for any network related connections, this might help you narrow down an issue with a script trying to connect to an external resource that is down and causing the timeout.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Diggster

    Diggster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    edmonton
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, jcats

    The sites are all PHP - some WordPress and some custom cms. at least 30 of the 70 sites are affected. It does not seem platform specific. The sites always time out. I also stopped the iptable service.

    I am a bit of a newbie - ran the commands as below - should I be running them in the site directories?

    root@du22 [~]# ps aux |grep php |grep user
    root@du22 [~]# lsof -p $pid
    lsof: no process ID specified
    lsof 4.82
    latest revision: ftp://lsof.itap.purdue.edu/pub/tools/unix/lsof/
    latest FAQ: ftp://lsof.itap.purdue.edu/pub/tools/unix/lsof/FAQ
    latest man page: ftp://lsof.itap.purdue.edu/pub/tools/unix/lsof/lsof_man
    usage: [-?abhlnNoOPRtUvVX] [+|-c c] [+|-d s] [+D D] [+|-f[gG]] [+|-e s]
    [-F [f]] [-g ] [-i ] [+|-L [l]] [+m [m]] [+|-M] [-o [o]] [-p s]
    [+|-r [t]] [-s [p:s]] [-S [t]] [-T [t]] [-u s] [+|-w] [-x [fl]] [--] [names]
    Use the ``-h'' option to get more help information.
    root@du22 [~]# root@du22 [~]# ps aux |grep php |grep user
     
  4. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No so, replace user with the cPanel username example

    if the username is bob do:

    Code:
    ps aux |grep php | grep bob
    this will print out all php processes, example:

    Code:
    [root@herbert public_html]# ps aux|grep php |grep bob
    bob+ 1053059  0.0  0.0 280704 14108 ?        S    14:17   0:00 lsphp
    bob+ 1054931 43.0  0.1 315416 44556 ?        Rs   14:20   0:00 lsphp:/home/bob/public_html/index.php
    
    so in this case, I would run:

    Code:
    lsof -p 1054931
    It will print out a bunch of stuff, but primarily look for rows that contain TCP in them which may help find the cause.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Diggster

    Diggster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    edmonton
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did that - at the root and received the following:


    root 25563 0.0 0.0 7612 804 pts/0 S+ 17:43 0:00 grep php

    then ran

    lsof -p 25563

    and it came up with nothing just return to command prompt
     
  6. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you shouldn't have php processes running as root, the process that shows is the grep command you just ran. Its best to paste the entire output including the command you ran.

    Make sure you are using the cPanel username of the account you are testing on in your browser. To find the cPanel username, in ssh you can type:

    Code:
    /scripts/whoowns domain.com
    making sure to replace domain.com with the domain timing out. Then the username that shows you would replace with

    Code:
    ps aux |grep php | grep $user
    Making sure to replace $user with the actual username from the out of the /scripts/whoowns script.

    Recall, you have to run the 'ps' command while your browser is trying to reach the domain, but before it times out.

    This might be difficult to assist with over a forum as you need a better understanding of ssh.

    What if you:

    Code:
    tail -f /etc/apache2/logs/error_log
    that will tail the log file in real time with any new lines as they are being logged. So while you tail that log, reproduce the timeout issue, then check the logs for any relevant errors. You can paste them here as well.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Diggster

    What @Jcats has requested is precisely what we would have asked you to request as well so we are waiting on that output to assist you further. I should point out that if you're unsure how to perform any of those tasks you might want to contact your provider or a system administrator if your provider is unable to assist. If you don't have a system administrator you might find one here: Resources | cPanel Forums

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice