The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total Newbie Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zintasefa, Sep 27, 2004.

  1. zintasefa

    zintasefa Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I recently made the upgrade from a sahred server to a vps server. I did this in the hopes of boosting the overall speed of the site, unfortunately since the move things are now much slower. Heres my newbie question, the plan I paid for has 256mb of ram. When I view the server information via WHM heres what it says about the server:

    Processor Info

    Processor #1 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #1 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #1 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #2 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #2 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #2 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #2 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #3 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #3 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #3 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #3 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #4 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #4 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #4 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #4 cache size: 512 KB

    Could someone please explain what this means? Whats with the 4 processors and should the speed show 143 or 256mb of ram? Thanks alot, I just cant believe how slow things have gotten.

    Regards and thanks
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    its a dual Xeon processor that you have. It is one among the best; but you could have had 512 MB or higher RAM.
     
  3. zintasefa

    zintasefa Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. So where in the system information does it show the ram. Can you tell its 256 when looking at the server info?
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    on the Server Status button; click: Server Information. and you can see the memory server has.
     
  5. zintasefa

    zintasefa Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Heres what it says:

    Processor Info

    Processor #1 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #1 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #1 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #2 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #2 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #2 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #2 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #3 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #3 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #3 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #3 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #4 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #4 Name: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.40GHz
    Processor #4 speed: 2400.143 MHz
    Processor #4 cache size: 512 KB

    Does that mean 256mb of ram?
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i get something like this on the server:
    ==============================
    Memory Information

    Memory: 1019036k/1040320k available (1529k kernel code, 17764k reserved, 1065k data, 164k init, 122816k highmem)

    =============================

    if u have shell access as root; then type at the shell:
    =========================
    cat /proc/meminfo
    ========================-
    you will get the amount of memory in your server in KB.
     
Loading...

Share This Page