The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tracking server load

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by albatroz, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. albatroz

    albatroz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virtual Orbis / Peru
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi!
    I got the following screen from one of my WHM servers.
    What do you think? Do I have a load problem as my provider said?
    server-pi-load-05-set-2012.png
     
  2. pwhjenny

    pwhjenny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Indeed you have. Check one of your user using almost 50% of total CPU that is not normal at all, bmorsa domain. Mysql also using high resources. You can execute mysql -e 'show processlist' command to find out what db taking high resources.
     
  3. albatroz

    albatroz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virtual Orbis / Peru
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    elmorsa.pe domain is basically a high traffic wordpress site.
    I have just installed Apache MPM Prefork as it was disabled.
    We will see how does the server behave today.

     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might want to look at the plugins on that site and make sure the site itself is up to date. Just because its high traffic does not mean it should be pounding on your server like this.
     
  5. albatroz

    albatroz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virtual Orbis / Peru
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I followed your tip regarding MySQL and this is what I got

    root@pi [~]# mysql -e 'show processlist'
    +------+--------------+-----------+--------------+----------------+------+--------------------+------------------+
    | Id | User | Host | db | Command | Time | State | Info |
    +------+--------------+-----------+--------------+----------------+------+--------------------+------------------+
    | 9 | eximstats | localhost | eximstats | Sleep | 7 | | NULL |
    | 10 | DELAYED | localhost | eximstats | Delayed insert | 7 | Waiting for INSERT | |
    | 6047 | leechprotect | localhost | leechprotect | Sleep | 2818 | | NULL |
    | 6845 | DELAYED | localhost | eximstats | Delayed insert | 35 | Waiting for INSERT | |
    | 6846 | DELAYED | localhost | eximstats | Delayed insert | 20 | Waiting for INSERT | |
    | 8417 | DELAYED | localhost | eximstats | Delayed insert | 20 | Waiting for INSERT | |
    | 8423 | root | localhost | NULL | Query | 0 | NULL | show processlist |
    +------+--------------+-----------+--------------+----------------+------+--------------------+------------------+
     
  6. albatroz

    albatroz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virtual Orbis / Peru
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After some days of tweaking here and there, this is my current status.
    What do you think?
    server-pi-load-18-set-2012.png
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd really suggest logging into root SSH and running "top" (without the quotes) there instead of using WHM. You receive real-time updates when running it from shell instead of using WHM.

    If the load is higher than normal, then simply watch top and what processes show as the highest during the load peak to see what might be the cause.
     
Loading...

Share This Page