The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tranfer accounts from one server onto another

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bigwebhosting, Sep 16, 2004.

  1. bigwebhosting

    bigwebhosting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I want to transfer clients accounts from one server onto an other. Is this possible?

    Will this effect their SQL databases ?

    Thanks
     
  2. KimBO

    KimBO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey BigWebHosting...

    Go to WHM -> Transfers

    With this functions you can transfer one (or more) accounts from your server to another one...

    It will be not effected to the users own SQL, but the Horde SQL (and the Horde setups for the user) will not be copied (it is a global SQL)...
    The SQLs only not working if you have another "home" folder like "home2" on the second server...

    Greetings... KimBO
     
  3. bigwebhosting

    bigwebhosting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Great

    But I can't find the transfers option. Is it under a submenu?
     
  4. KimBO

    KimBO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you use the root WHM or the reseller WHM?

    Only the root have the rights to do it and there it is at the "normal" left side with the menu...
     
  5. bigwebhosting

    bigwebhosting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm only a reseller

    is this a problem?
     
  6. KimBO

    KimBO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    As a "reseller" on a cpanel machine you can not copy/transfer one account from one server to another server...

    Only MR. ROOT can do this... :)

    Ask you admin that he can do it for you... :)
     
  7. donbonner

    donbonner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any way to block transfers

    I would like to stop any other machine from doing a transfer. how do I do that?
     
  8. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Transfer

    Is there anyway to copy a site from a server where you only have a reseller to a dedicated server you have? I would assume you need to do a Full Backup, FTP it to the new server, then restore it? Has anyone any good instructions on this. I have seen a number of posts, but not a good consolidated one.
     
  9. Stream

    Stream Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    On your dedicated server you can choose the option "Copy an account from another server with account password" (instead of using root-password).

    Worked fine when I did it on a few smaller accounts, but it says it won't work for large accounts. Also the admin may have blocked this kind of access.
     
  10. jdstallings

    jdstallings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks!

    Thanks... Did you have any MySQL or MailMan lists that were included in these? Was not sure if they copied those as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page