The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transfer 10GB+ Account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by erinspice, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. erinspice

    erinspice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any ideas on how to get an account with 10+ gigabytes in the homedir to transfer correctly? They are mostly images and will not compress very much. I've thought about removing them from the homedir temporarily during the transfer and scping or rsyncing them manually, but then they would be missing from the website for an hour or so. I've tried and failed this transfer about 5 times. I've already backed up and removed all unnecessary space-hog directories, like tmp, logs, and access-logs. Any help, insight, or ideas would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. wizzy420

    wizzy420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Do you have admin access to server you are moving to?

    You could create a full backup, have it automatically FTP to the remote server, then do a cpbackup restore.
     
  3. erinspice

    erinspice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, I have root access to both servers. Would a cpbackup save all my cpanel, cron, and email settings and create and configure the new account on the new server?
     
  4. xrserver

    xrserver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes if you make a full backup in cpanel or in shell type
    cd /scripts
    ./pkgacct accountname

    that should back up EVERYTHING on that account.
     
  5. erinspice

    erinspice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Awesome, thanks. Can I assume that /scripts/restorepkg is the script to restore the account on commandline? Does it take a filename?

    ETA: I figured out myself to use "/scripts/restorepkg username" as long as the cpmove-username.tar.gz file is in /root or another location the script looks in by default.
     
    #5 erinspice, Jan 26, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page