quietFinn

Well-Known Member
Feb 4, 2006
1,793
409
438
Finland
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,

I want to transfer all accounts from one server to another. Let's call them source.domain.com and dest.domain.com
Source.domain.com
uses DNS Cluster, in that there are 2 nameservers, let's call them ns.domain.com and ns2.domain.com
We want to use those nameservers also in dest.domain.com.
I have installed and configured dest.domain.com, and it will use those 2 nameservers in DNS Cluster, so the configuration is the same in both, source and destination servers.
It looks like this in both servers:

donettiDNSCLUSTER.jpg

In Transfer Tool documentation I read this:

  • The Transfer Tool feature replacesthe source server’s files with the target server’s zone files when the following conditions are true:
    • The target server resides in the same Domain Name System (DNS) cluster as the source server.
    • The source server and the DNS nodes use the Synchronized Changes DNS role. For more information about DNS clusters, read our DNS Cluster documentation.
1st, "The target server resides in the same Domain Name System (DNS) cluster as the source server.", Ok, that's true. no problem.

2nd, "The source server and the DNS nodes use the Synchronized Changes DNS role"
This I am not sure if I understand.
Does it mean that in source.domain.com I must change DNS Role from Write-only to Synchronize and in dest.domain.com the DNS Role is still Write-only?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
13,427
2,113
363
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hey there! Traditionally, we have recommended that people disable the DNS cluster when performing a migration. This keeps the DNS records from being overwritten in multiple places, which could lead to unexpected downtime.

You wouldn't want to change the roles of the DNS cluster at all.
 

quietFinn

Well-Known Member
Feb 4, 2006
1,793
409
438
Finland
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hey there! Traditionally, we have recommended that people disable the DNS cluster when performing a migration. This keeps the DNS records from being overwritten in multiple places, which could lead to unexpected downtime.
You mean I should disable DNS Cluster in the source server?

Currently there is only 2 servers in the cluster, source.domain.com & dest.domain.com
 

quietFinn

Well-Known Member
Feb 4, 2006
1,793
409
438
Finland
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
So I do this:
1. disable cluster in destination server
2. transfer all accounts with transfer tool, using Live Transfer
3. disable cluster in source server
4. enable cluster in destination server and sync zones.

This is 1st time I am transferring accounts in dns cluster, need to transfer 123 accounts and just hoping I'm not creating a big mess :eek:

For a test I transferred one account, and the dns zone seems to be as expected after transfer