The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transfer Accounts Not Working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mattwcu, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. Mattwcu

    Mattwcu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello -

    We just got a new server installed the other day and have been having trouble copying accounts from one to the other. Both are running WHM 11.23.2. We've never had a need to do this before since this is only our second server.

    But when we try and copy to the new server using the tool in WHM we get the following error:

    Packaging the account...

    root@[my IP Address]'s password:
    The password you provided is not correct.

    Trace Output: (root@[my IP address]'s password: ==sshcontroloutput==
    root@[my IP Address]'s password:
    sshcmdpermissiondeny
    )

    At least that is what I get when I try to use the root login. I have also tried the default options too, by using logging in as the user with their password, and using the public key. I have also tried using an installed SSH key. No dice.

    Any suggestions would be great, thanks!:confused:
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just my .02 cents:

    I got that error also, halfway through transferring (my list of accounts), and it seems to happen from using the "point old domain to new domain" / forced DNS option.

    Wish i could tell you how it got fixed. Still working on that.
     
  4. BurstGuy

    BurstGuy Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Had this problem and worked it out. This is being caused by the key not being recognized in /root/.ssh/known_hosts. Either add the key to this file or clear the file from the server receiving the transferred account and it should alleivate the issue.
     
  5. louisg1

    louisg1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    the other fix is to remove and reinstall openssh i had this problem i removed and reinstalled ssh and it fixed it. you have to reinstall openssh on the box you are transferring from.
     
  6. highgeere

    highgeere Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    @BurstGuy - That did the trick. Thanks!

    @louisg1 - Did you even try the other suggested fixes? Reinstalling openssh may have been necessary for you but it clearly isn't a required fix for this issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page