The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transfer accounts recreates DNS entries from scratch

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ensermo, May 3, 2006.

  1. ensermo

    ensermo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Delft
    Can anyone tell me if the transfer account can be used to transfer domain names with custom dns settings?

    I have tried a couple of things but didn't work. Is there a workaround?

    Here is the problem in more detail.

    In WHM >> Main >> Transfers >> Copy multiple accounts from another server

    When I transfer an account like for example
    domain.com from
    server A with IP 111.111.111.111
    to
    server B with IP 222.222.222.222

    the DNS is recreated from scratch instead of edited with a new IP.

    What I mean is.
    On server A domain domain.com has dns records

    mail 14400 IN CNAME domain.com.
    www 14400 IN CNAME domain.com.
    ftp 14400 IN A 111.111.111.111
    test 14400 IN A 111.111.111.111
    www.test 14400 IN A 111.111.111.111
    comment 14400 IN TXT "comment in dns"
    google 14400 IN CNAME google.com.
    myhomeip 14400 IN A 123.123.123.123
    mylocalip 14400 IN A 192.168.1.1

    When transfering to the new server the records will be


    mail IN CNAME domain.com.
    www IN CNAME domain.com.
    ftp IN A 222.222.222.222
    test 14400 IN A 222.222.222.222
    www.test 14400 IN A 222.222.222.222


    You see the last custom records are lost
    comment 14400 IN TXT "comment in dns"
    google 14400 IN CNAME google.com.
    myhomeip 14400 IN A 123.123.123.123
    mylocalip 14400 IN A 192.168.1.1

    We have a lot of customers with custom dns records pointing to different ip's and cnames.
    It would be impossible for us to check one by one if every record is OK.

    I am wondering if the transfer function will work with some workaround or if someone has any idea how to manage this?

    Please advise. Any help is very welcome!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. pphillips

    pphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'd like to know about this also.

    We move accounts across servers on occasion and now we have to double check their DNS records first to make sure there is nothing custom before we do the server to server copy. What is the best way around this?
     
  3. Salman75

    Salman75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For the past few days we have seen a strange issue.

    When accounts are copied from serverA to serverB, the DNZ zone files of the copied accounts (on serverB) still contain the name server entries of serverA

    Then we have to edit all such DNS records. We are seeing this on around 70% of all accounts which are copied.

    Why is that? Another new cPanel bug?
     
  4. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've had this opened as a bug in cpanel's bugzilla almost two years ago. I still haven't been told it's fixed.
     
  5. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    exactly here !!!!

    :confused:
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Does this have any effect for you?
    Tweak settings > domains > (4th box down)
    When adding a new domain, automatically create A entries for the registered nameservers if they would be contained in the zone.

    (5th box)
    When adding a new domain, if the domain is already registered, ignore the configured nameservers, and set the NS line to the authoritative (registered) ones.
     
    #6 jayh38, Oct 26, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  7. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    YES, YES, YES !

    Thank you very much !!!! ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page