The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

transfer error on 5gb account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Secret Agent, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I have been trying endlessly to transfer an account that is 5.7gb in size. The tmp partition I made it 7gb on the receiving server

    I get this error:

    Timeout ...
    (internal) Tue Jun 21 13:24:08 2005 [6011] error: Died at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 5112, line 3103.
    main::__ANON__('ALRM') called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 5123
    eval {...} called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 5108
    main::sshsession('Packaging the account', 'meaks', '/scripts/pkgacct finchsb ~m --split', 0, '/scripts/sshcontrol', '--ctl', 'ssh', '--user', ...) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 19689
    main::remoteexec('txt', 'Packaging the account', 'password', 'rootpw', 'supass', 'mae', 'user', 'maa', ...) called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 3492
    main::copyacct() called at whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2.pl line 434
    [an error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]
    Done
    Transfer ErrorUnable to package account


    How do I resolve this? It always gives that error after 5-6 hrs! Its driving me crazy
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Instead of trying to transfer the whole account, you could go for the option of:

    1. On the source server, make a backup of the account
    2. On the source server, delete all the files and DBs for the account
    3. Transfer minimalised account from the source server to target server
    4. On the target server, restore the backup
     
  3. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    what about splitting the fullbackup file and joining them at the target server.?


    Another take a backup of public_html directory to another directory. Then remove the public_html. Then take the
    full backup using pkgacct and restore it at the target server. The backed up public_html directory you can tar, compress and transfer separately. I was succesful in my case. Hope it helps you.
    --------
    Aby :)
     
  4. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I took the file backup-6.21.2005_22-23-11_finchsb.tar.gz (used scp to transfer it to receiving server) and put it in /backup/cpbackup/daily

    I tried restore and got "Extracting Domain....Done<br>
    Sorry, the copy failed. Unable to find the cpanel user file. Is the archive missing (cwd: /home/cprestore loaded finchsb/cp/finchsb)?
    "

    I checked all options as well. It shows me that error after transferring for about 30 minutes
     
    #4 Secret Agent, Jun 22, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 22, 2005
  5. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You might want to try a different backup restoration method.

    From the wording of the error you're getting, I'm assuming you're using WHM > Backup > Restore backups. If so, I believe that the relevant account needs to exist before restoring the backup. Have you done this?

    As an alternative, you could try WHM > Backup > Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file - it is possible that this option is less stringent when it comes to whether or not the relevant account exists in any form or fashion.
     
  6. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Yes I created the account first with same username and all. Didn't work.

    I also tried the full backup / cprestore option and get the same error
     
  7. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I was viewing the backed up file finchsb.tar.gz and this is an example of the dir structure

    backup-6.21.2005_22-23-11_finchsb/homedir/public_html/iggy/filename.php


    I would really appreciate someones help here. Thank you.
     
  8. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    This is very frustrating. I've tried so many times, so many ways.

    Someone please help me out. This is starting to aggravate me
     
  9. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try using, on the source server, /scripts/pkgacct <username>

    Then scp the resulting file to the new server and put it in the backup folder

    Then restore it from the backup. This will need there to be no account already on the server by that name.
     
  10. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Done
    Copying cpuser file.......Done
    Copying crontab file.......Done
    Copying quota info.......Done
    Storing Subdomains....
    Done
    Storing Parked Domains....
    Done
    Storing Addon Domains....
    Done
    Copying password.......Done
    Copying shell.......Done
    pkgacctfile is: /home/cpmove-finchsb.tar.gz
    Creating Archive .............
    .........



    I did it the way you said and every time it starts to create the archive the server crashes.

    I even made /tmp 7gb to squeeze in the 5gb account!!!

    HELP!!!
     
  11. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The server crashes? As in the whole thing locks up?

    Are you running nightly backups? Do they run adequately?
     
  12. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    it reboots by itself, that's what it does.

    I should have been more clear
     
  13. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It reboots by itself? That is very odd behavior. Do you have something that triggers a reboot if load gets too high?
     
  14. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Could it be LES?
     
  15. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Definintely not les. sim would be mroe likely, but I do not think it has that 'feature'

    If you want me to take a look at it, I am on MSN jon at greenolivetree dot net
     
Loading...

Share This Page