Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Transfer Tool - dotfiles/hidden files

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by EZoolander, Jul 19, 2017.

Tags:
  1. EZoolander

    EZoolander Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm migrating a bunch of websites from an old WHM/Cpanel server to another new one - and attempting to do it via the Transfer tool. Everything seems to be working properly - except it's not transferring over the dotfiles like .htaccess.

    I'd rather not have to take an inventory of all of the sites and manually recreate them. Is there something I'm missing in the transfer process (I'm just selecting the defaults) that would allow those to transfer as well?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,350
    Likes Received:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is owner and permissions set properly for that account's htaccess file?

    What sort of error are you getting when it does not copy proper?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. EZoolander

    EZoolander Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    File owner/group is the same as every other file that copied successfully. Permission is 644. No error that I recall seeing on the transfer tool. Just didn't copy over.
     
  4. EZoolander

    EZoolander Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okay - just transferred another domain as a test (I'm doing them one by one right now just so I can see what happens).

    Once again, everything transferred except for the .htaccess file.

    This one did actually kick over an error - but I don't see anything about htaccess in it.

    • Server Error from xxx.xx.xx.xx: HTTP/1.0 401 Access Denied
    • [2017-07-19 14:31:03 +0000] warn [Internal Warning while parsing [stdin] 16938] Server Error from xxx.xx.xx.xx: HTTP/1.0 401 Access Denied
    • at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/ForkAsync.pm line 67.
    • Cpanel::ForkAsync::do_in_child(CODE(0x5395f38)) called at /usr/local/cpanel/Whostmgr/Transfers/Session/Processor.pm line 157
    • Whostmgr::Transfers::Session::Processor::start(Whostmgr::Transfers::Session::Processor=HASH(0x53cf608)) called at bin/start_transfer.pl line 55
    • main::__ANON__() called at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/524/lib64/perl5/cpanel_lib/Try/Tiny.pm line 101
    • eval {...} called at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/524/lib64/perl5/cpanel_lib/Try/Tiny.pm line 92
    • Try::Tiny::try(CODE(0x5357400), Try::Tiny::Catch=REF(0x2f11990)) called at bin/start_transfer.pl line 70
    • Server Error from xxx.xx.xx.xx: HTTP/1.0 401 Access Denied
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,350
    Likes Received:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    When you say its not transferring the dot files, how do you know that? Because it's just not on the account after a successful move and stuff is broken, or you just don't see it? Could it be hidden on the new server?

    Silly question I'm sure but worth asking I think.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. EZoolander

    EZoolander Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, I go via SSH, go to the directory, do a ls -l, and it's not there. lol Yet everything else is.

    I also go in via CPanel, go to the file manager tool, go the public_html (where it resided on the old server). All of the files are there. I go to options to show hidden flies - and no .htaccess file

    Then I go to the old server...copy the contents of the .htaccess file...go to the new server... Create new file...paste it in...viola it works. lol
     
    #6 EZoolander, Jul 19, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 19, 2017
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,350
    Likes Received:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please feel free to open a ticket directly to cPanel Technical Support about this if you like.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. WorkinOnIt

    WorkinOnIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello was there a resolution to this?

    Not meaning to hijack this thread, but a Google search brought me here (I can open a new thread if required)

    I have a very similar / same error message whilst doing a transfer:

    What could this error mean?

    The transfer does appear to complete fine (transfer/restore 100% success), but the transfer status processing just spins forever and never seems to complete / state is stuck in running (though all the accounts look fine). Should I abort the transfer? It does not seem to be doing anything further.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @WorkinOnIt,

    A support ticket opened with a similiar error message was due to host access control rules configured in "WHM -> Security Center -> Host Access Control". The affected servers used a DENY rule for all connections at the top of the rules list. The workaround was to add an ALLOW rule for the other cPanel server's IP address as the top rule.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the same problem but it is not due to host access control rules.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Already had a ticket for this. No solution could be provided. Now my server transfer is over. (manually copied htacess files)
     
  13. WorkinOnIt

    WorkinOnIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    I checked the Host Access Control and all seems fine there.

    The transfer completed with errors (the error was that the custom Feature List for a package was not present on the new server). I am not sure if this error caused the message mentioned above.

    Anyway, I killed the transfer task. I'll try another transfer to see if the issue continues.
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    We are tracking reports of the "Transfer Tool" not copying over .htaccess files as part of internal case CPANEL-14707. There's no additional information to report at this time, but I'll monitor the case and update this thread with any additional information. Anyone facing the same problem is encouraged to open a support ticket and reference this case number so we can attempt to determine the source of the issue.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. vKios

    vKios Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I was experiencing the same problem. I already opened a ticket for this (#9085387).

    Thank you.
     
  16. shuern

    shuern Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was experiencing the same problem. I didn't open a ticket since, i deleted the transfer.
    please share if there is a bug there. thanks.
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The ticket was closed, as the issue was not reproducible after the customer updated the destination server to cPanel version 68. Feel free to open a support ticket if you continue to experience this issue on cPanel version 68 or newer.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. WhiteDog

    WhiteDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I'm having the same issue today. Transferring some 200 accounts to a new server and the .htaccess is missing for some of them after the transfer. Old server is on cPanel 68, new one on cPanel 70 (I know I know, should have upgraded them both).
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Can you confirm if port 2087 was blocked on the source server (the one you were copying the accounts from)?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. WhiteDog

    WhiteDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hello Michael,

    Port was definitely open and the copy worked fine for the majority of the accounts. I however had the issue again yesterday. Here is some info that can help:

    - Both servers are on latest 72.
    - Transfer was not "streamed", archive was created.
    - Transfer log says: Fixing up EA4 .htaccess blocks: /home/xxxxxxx/public_html/.htaccess Done. This is the file that was missing.
    - Restore log file shows no real errors, only this I see as relevant: EasyApache4 was repaired in .htaccess files.
    - Source server default PHP is 5.6. Account is set to 7.1. Target server default PHP is 7.0.
    - Another .htaccess in the root was untouched.

    I would say the EA4 Fixer is destroying the files :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice