Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Transfer tool new behavior?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by albertus, Nov 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. albertus

    albertus Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone,

    Since one of my servers is having some issues I decided to migrate its accounts to a new server. However, this new server, that runs version 68 has some new Transfer Tool behavior which was very unexpected to me:

    When the Transfer Tool begins migrating the account, it points the "A record" of the domain(s) to the new server IP even before the account has been fully transfered, so, during the transfer -that could be many hours long when moving large accounts- accounts have no service.

    Is that a new desired behavior or it's somehow working that way only to me?

    Kindly, Albertus
     
  2. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. albertus

    albertus Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi William,

    Yes.

    This is the output on the right side (the "RESTORE" side) that shows Express Transfer is off.
    At the moment, the transfer wasn't finished, and the IP was already changed.

    Starting “RESTORE” for “Account” “noticia6”.
    Restore File: /home/cpmove-noticia6.tar.gz.part00001
    Restore Reseller Privs: yes
    Restricted mode: no
    Express mode: no
    Target “/home” on host “xxxx.xxxxxx.xxxx” has 3.11 TB free and requires at least 941.64 MB free, which includes space for temporary files.
    Target “/home” on host “xxxx.xxxxxx.xxxx” has 240,596,629 inodes free and requires at least 19,717 inodes free, which includes space for temporary files.
    ArchiveManager
    Preparing archive for restoration …
    Calculating disk space needed …
    Done.
    Target “/home/cpanelpkgrestore.TMP.work.vjuHKQaN/unsafe_to_read_archive” on host “xxxx.xxxxxx.xxxx” has 3.11 TB free and requires at least 3.46 MB free, which includes space for temporary files.
    This archive’s payload appears to be in the archive’s “cpmove-noticia6” directory.
    ArchiveManager
    The system successfully prepared the archive for restoration.
    PreRestoreActions
    PreRestoreActions
    Account
    Force Mode: no
    Dedicated IP Address: no
    Account
    Account created
    CpUser
    Restoring cPanel user file.
    Updating Caches …
    CpUser
    CpUser data restored
    IPAddress
    IPAddress
    Homedir
    Streaming Homedir from source server…
    receiving incremental file list



     
  4. albertus

    albertus Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, it turns out that Transfer Tool does that BY DESIGN - poor design if you ask me

    If both cPanel servers are configured with the same DNS cluster, the IP gets changed as soon as the destination server creates the account. So if you have to move large accounts from server to server, cPanel is still not ready for that. You'll have to:

    * Disable the DNS cluster to avoid the DNS zone to be changed.
    * Start the transfer (only one large account at the time...)
    * Once finished, change the IP to the new one
    * Enable the DNS cluster
    * Track if ANY user made changes to DNS (add account, add subdomain, change MX, add/remove/modify SPF, DKIM, etc) and perform the changes manually
    * Same steps for the next account, and so on...

    And if you care, contact cPanel to ask about internal case CPANEL-5687, although, they will for sure say "Unfortunately, it isn't possible to provide an ETA when this feature improvement will get incorporated into the cPanel software."

    Good luck
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To update, it was determined the behavior reported as part of internal case CPANEL-5687 is functioning as designed because there's no staging capability with the "Transfer Tool" and DNS clustering. I encourage you to open a feature request if you'd like to see this type of functionality added to the product:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice