Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transfer tool set up wrong IP

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by diWhile1, Aug 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. diWhile1

    diWhile1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello
    Transfer tool set up WRONG IP on restore step and use local ip of old server generation (NAT 1:1)
    To save time I cloned a machine (NAT 1:1) and reconfigure the ip`s at:
    1. /etc/ips
    2. /var/cpanel/mainip
    3. /etc/hosts
    4. WHM »Server Configuration »Basic WebHost Manager..
    5. set and verify new main ip on whm and remove the old one
    6. /scripts/build_cpnat
    and all looking good but the transfer tool used the old local IP

    what am I missing?
     
  2. diWhile1

    diWhile1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    update:
    TRANSFER: 1 completed, 0 had warnings, and 0 failed.
    RESTORE: 1 completed, 1 had warnings, and 0 failed.

    - Removed Link -
    You must use an IP address that is on the server. “192.168.xxx.xx” is not bound.

    Where the IP address was taken from? (“192.168.xxx.xx”)
    That IP address was previously used on the server and is not being used or configured anymore
     
    #2 diWhile1, Aug 26, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 26, 2017
  3. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    are you using any cloud instance and migrating on a cloud instance again ?
     
  4. diWhile1

    diWhile1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Something like that. vm on private vmware cluster.
    Does anyone have any idea how to make accounts get up with the right (wan) IP address and not the local IP?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The "Transfer Tool" option should automatically assign a new IP address from the list of available IP addresses on the destination server (it's main shared IP by default) when the IP address associated with the account on the source server does not exist on the destination server. Can you clarify if that's what happened in this case, or was the account assigned an IP address that did not exist on the destination server?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page