The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transfering a domain wihout having full WHM access

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by franki, Aug 3, 2003.

  1. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I have a reseller account on a server with WHM/CPanel but I have only reseller privileges, not full access to WHM. I want to transfer my domains to another server of my own (with WHM/CPanel to which I have full access). Is there any way to do the transfer without 'bothering' the owner of the first server? I want to do the transfer by myself. Is that possible?(having only reseller privileges)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 franki, Aug 3, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2003
  2. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    Re: Transfering a domain wihout have full WHM access

    Sure you can ..
    If you have Full Server Access on the new server (the server you want to move to) then you can go to:

    WHM > Copy an account from another server with account password

    And copy each of your accounts under your Reseller Account to the new server.
     
  3. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Re: Transfering a domain wihout have full WHM access

    Hmm it sounds good!
    So I don't need to have full server access to the first (current) server, do I? Only username/password of accounts and full access to the 2nd (new) server. ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Will this also copy over any mailing lists, mysql db, etc..?

    Thanks!

    I imagine we'll then have to re-issue different IP addresses for the reseller nameservers?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    You need the username and password for each shared account you want to transfer. And Root access in the new server.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I forgot to say that I mean transferring everything such as web files, emails, passwords, users, mySQL db's, etc. Everything is transferring this way, right?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    It should copy DB but I am not sure about Mailing list (I did not try to transfer an account with a mailman list)

    If you want to transfer a Reseller Account:

    1. Create a shared account in your new server and give me reseller prev.

    2. Transfer the shared accounts of this reseller.

    3. Change Ownership to this reseller.

    Remember Packages won't be transferred so you will have to re-create them.


    Transfered Accounts IP will change to the shared IP of the new server.

    Of course .. because the old IPs are not assigned to the new server.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    All the /home/username is transferred + mySQL Database.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you very much mmkassem for your quick answers!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    One more question!

    You said that I need username/password of each account. Can I use the usernames of accounts and the reseller password? I'm afraid I don't have all passwords. :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    You welcome.

    The transfer requires FTP connection to the user first host. So you will have to use their password.

    Change their passwords and tell them that you are moving to a new server. And send them a new generated password via email asking them to change it again.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm here again. I noticed (in the demo) that in the "Copy an account from another server with account password" option it says "The Remote Server must be cPanel3 or cPanel4 or cPanel4.5 or Webpanel based". The server (from which I want to transfer) has CPanel 6. What does this mean? I cannot use this transfer method?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    No problem, It will transfer .. They meant cPanel => 3

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you mmkassem.

    By the way, are you my personal assistance? :) I get a response from you very quickly!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This option is there indeed, but in my experience it does not always work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any other way to transfer a domain (files, users, passwords, db's, ... everything) if this method doesn't work?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    As far as I know: no.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    yeah sometimes it does not work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    This is a very time consuming job if you have alot of clients but it worked for me. The only thing that had not copied over was the email fowards and filters.

    Like mentioned before you will need to change all passwords and I would recommend you use the same for all. ( takes a little frustration out )

    Make sure you do this at a time when your old reseller server is not going through any updates or maintenance.

    also, if you had changed your DNS Information for your domain name (name server) that your clients use, don't forget to tell them that they need to change it to the new one.

    When you have completed your transfers you will need to go back to each account and change the ownership from your reseller to your root. You may also want to create new packages to get rid of your resellername_packagename
    You can do this through upgrade/downgrade after you created the new packages.

    I wish you good look!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. franki

    franki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    For me the most important thing is the users' passwords. I have 100+ domains and hundrers of email accounts. I cannot contact all of them informing about the new generated password! Some other things such as email filters, etc. are not very important, I can setup it again by myself.

    I know that large sites (total data > 100MB) are difficult to be transferred. Any 'tip' for transferring them as well?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page