The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transfering Problems

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Mastdesi, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. Mastdesi

    Mastdesi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am transfering from a shared account from a cpanel 10 server to cpanel 11 server. Mysql and home directory uploaded fine but when uploading an Email Forwarders/Filters Backup I get the following error:

    [a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]

    Code:
    /etc/valiases/aliases-avatar.irootnetwork.org open failed: Permission denied at cpanel.pl line 3007
    	Carp::croak('/etc/valiases/aliases-avatar.irootnetwork.org open failed: Permi...') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Fileman.pm line 363
    	Cpanel::Fileman::restoreaf('dir', '/home/fadyger', 'file-C:\Users\Xblade\Desktop\transfer\aliases-avatar.irootnetwor...', 'file3', 'file-C:\Users\Xblade\Desktop\transfer\aliases-avatar.irootnetwor...', '/home/fadyger/tmp/Cpanel_Form_file.upload.TM720eKGIvc2RhuZ') called at cpanel.pl line 3007
    	main::dofileman('restoreaf()') called at cpanel.pl line 1589
    	main::exectag('<cpanel Fileman="restoreaf()">') called at cpanel.pl line 4455
    	main::dotag(undef) called at cpanel.pl line 4344
    	main::cpanel_parseblock('SCALAR(0x9120778)') called at cpanel.pl line 4298
    	main::cpanel_parse('GLOB(0x93770a8)') called at cpanel.pl line 1119
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Any special reason you're restoring the account in pieces instead of doing it with a full backup?
     
  3. Mastdesi

    Mastdesi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Will full backup do everything, files, mysql, emails...?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Indeed, the full backup is a fully comprehensive backup of an individual account.
     
  5. Mastdesi

    Mastdesi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    k now i got my customer's full backup downloaded on my computer. Where do i place this file now?
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Place this in the /home or /root directory of your server. Once there, you should be able to go to WHM -> Backup -> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file, then type the username of that account to create/restore that account.
     
  7. Mastdesi

    Mastdesi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    How do i access one of those directories. i just need to place the file in one of thos directories but can u plz give me the steps on how to get to one of these directories.
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For newbies, I typically recommend creating a dummy account via WHM with enough disk quota to accommodate the backups. Then FTP upload the backups there. After that, login to the server via SSH using a SSH client such as PuTTY. From there, use the cp command to copy the file from /home/account/whatever.tgz (where account is the username for the account where these files are uploaded to and whatever.tgz is the filename for the backup) to /home. Be sure to delete the files from the dummy account once the restoration is complete.

    There are other, far more efficient methods of doing this. However, this is typically the easiest for a novice system administrator.
     
  9. Mastdesi

    Mastdesi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    gr8 thanks for the help, the sites running perfect now.
     
  10. woodcreeker

    woodcreeker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Create Backup and Move With No Root Access

    I have a shared server and do not have root access. How can move my site??

    I am moving from shared with no root access to one with root access. (VPS)

    I am also running vBulletin, vBSEO, and CMPS.

    This is very perculiar for a newbie administrator. You can say I am a "real" newbie, since I haven't ever had root access. I know this might be considered "hijacking", but it is along with the discussion, just I do not know how to make the backup above since I do not have root access.

    I have created an account, and tried the cPanel method of transfer with no success.

    Any information would be golden at this time :)

    Thanks
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In this scenario (a lack of root access on the remote server), I typically recommend performing full site backups via the existing website's cPanel interface. Then transferring that full site backup to your own server's /home directory. Repeat this process for each website you with to transfer.

    Then go to WHM -> Backup -> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file on your server and type the username for the account you wish to create/restore onto your own server. It should automatically detect the files placed in /home and list them in the WHM interface.
     
  12. Imai

    Imai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello David,

    I was wondering if there is a way to move the entire server to a new one
    other than backup and restore individual accounts.

    I just got a new server, installed with a temporary licence.
    I want to transfer the accounts and change the IP to the current server IP

    I will appreciate some help in the direction.

    Thank you
    Imai
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could create/use an existing full server backup and copy it to your new server and restore the backup there. This restoration process is a "manual" one, but the archive is very straightforward in structure. For example, the contents of var/mysql/ in the archive would be extracted to /var/mysql, the contents of etc/ would be extracted to /etc/ and so forth.
     
    #13 cPanelDavidG, Feb 18, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  14. israel

    israel Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Trouble restoring backups to new server running cPanel

    Hello David, I am having a similar problem when restoring the individual backups [a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]. The reason I dont go with the full back up is simply because Putty doesn't allow me to proceed with entering the password for the account. I can enter the account name but it freezes in the password section without allowing to enter the password.

    I was able to successfully restore the home directory files with the restore feature in cPanel and also was able to successfully restore the database which was originally installed on a subdomain but the subdomain was not created upon restore. Do I need to manually create the subdomain under the new server I am transferring to?

    Kind regards,
    Israel Collazo
     
  15. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As the backups you can restore via the cPanel interface are not full site backups, you will likely need to restore those items manually. Hence I often recommend /scripts/pkgacct or creating a full site backup (as that user, as doing this as a reseller will not properly backup databases) rather than relying on the limited backup/restore functionalities of the cPanel interface.
     
Loading...

Share This Page