The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transfering Shared Site Account To VPS With Another Host

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by woodcreeker, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. woodcreeker

    woodcreeker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a shared server and do not have root access. How can move my site??

    They do not allow me to backup my site, either. I looked through every cPanel skin.

    I am moving from shared with no root access to one with root access. (VPS)

    I am also running vBulletin, vBSEO, and CMPS.

    I have created an account on the VPS, and tried the cPanel method of transfer with no success.

    This is very perculiar for a newbie administrator. You can say I am a "real" newbie, since I haven't ever had root access until I got this VPS account.

    Okay, I do not know how to make the backup above since I do not have root access. So, I am at the mercy of the shared account charging me to do the backup. They do not allow me to switch my IP numbers, either. So, if I am answering my own question, that is fine. So, do I create a ticket to have this done, along with changing my IP numbers??

    I have this button in my file manager to Compress files. Can I use that to create these backup files?? It allows me to compress files and folders. However, I see no way to get the database this way. I am curious about that feature, might be handy to backup directories when I am customizing .PHP vBulletin scripts...

    Any information would be golden at this time :)

    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I believe I replied to you already in this thread: http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=74798

    To create a full site backup, go to cPanel -> Files -> Backup and click the button labeled Download and Generate a Full Backup. Repeat this for each account you wish to relocate. Typically novice administrators will set that to drop the files in that server's home directory, then download those files followed by uploading those files to your own server where you have root access.
     
  3. woodcreeker

    woodcreeker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, you did reply, and this is sort of a rebutal.

    I cannot use the cPanel they gave me to perform a backup. So, a natural question is, are they in violation of cPanel agreements using it this way?? They must have disabled that part of the cPanel. I was hoping there was another way around it, but, they get you when you come onboard, and they get you when you are getting off board. I will be glad to be moved and away from that host.

    I have no real remorse, they were just a plain bad host.
     
  4. texo

    texo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ask them to do it

    Have you tried asking them to do the backup for you?
    (Often the simplest solution is the one we think of last. Had this same problem last week when a new client wanted to move to me. His old host didn;t allow him access to the backup facility either, so we asked them nicely and they did it.)
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Agreed, some web hosting providers have accounts that are multiple gigabytes in size and may disable this functionality via Feature Manager to ensure they don't inadvertently start creating a backup during peak times and then drag the server to a crawl.

    Keep in mind individual hosting providers can customize our software as they see fit. They are under no obligation to ensure certain functionality is available.
     
  6. woodcreeker

    woodcreeker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the responses. When they did the backup, did they allow the cPanel to access the backup as well ?? This host has everything disabled for me. They will not even let me repoint the DNS pointers. I suppose they are using the "security risk" tactic there.

    But, like I said, I was asking my own questions and answering them.

    Glad you guys replied to this.

    DavidG and texo

    Thanks a whole bunch !!
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    They could do that, or they could use /scripts/pkgacct as root. Both methods lead to essentially the same result.
     
Loading...

Share This Page