The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transferring a site between cPanel Hosts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kurtis5561, Sep 30, 2006.

  1. kurtis5561

    kurtis5561 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I work for a webhosting company. We are only new/just starting out. I have been asked by a customer if it is possible to transfer his site from his old host that uses cPanel aswell to my server that also uses cPanel.

    My question, Is it possible to transfer the site (The website is a Vbulletin installation) by doing a backup in cPanel on the old site and then doing a restore on the new host?

    Thanks for your help in advance :)
     
  2. ajaydsouza

    ajaydsouza Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi,

    You can use the Transfer in WHM to do so.

    If the client has SSH access on the old server you can use Copy an account from another server

    Otherwise use Copy an account from another server with account password

    The client will have to give you the username and password.
     
  3. WebHostDog

    WebHostDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello, from his old Cpanel go to Backups -> Generate/Download a Full Backup (here you can use even direct to FTP the backup to your hosting). Then move the generated backup to /home/ and from your WHM use Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file option and type his user name and all shoud be fine.


    Thanks.
     
  4. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The easiest way to copy the full backup is via wget. To do that, once you've generated the full backup, copy the URL from the full backup on the backup screen (the text you see looks like backup-... but you want the underlying URL ftp://...).

    Log into the destination server, and run the following commands to copy the backup over:

    Code:
    cd /home
    wget ftp://...
    Once you've done that, go to "Restore a Full backup/cpmove file" in WHM under backups and enter the account name and off you go!

    For copying a big site, this is MUCH faster, but it's only a tip, so if it doesn't make sense ignore it.

    I've found the WHM "copy account with password" works well from some servers but not so well from others.
     
  5. angelina_holy

    angelina_holy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Suppose you want to take backup of single customer having cpanel username as userA from server 1 to server 2 ,follow these steps

    1.Login to server1 . cd /scripts

    Run ./pkgacct username {here it will be ./pkgacct userA. you will see cpmove-userA.tar.gz at /home }

    2. now copy the backup from server 1 to server 2 using
    scp cpmove-userA.tar.gz root@server2 ip address:/home

    3 restore the tar file

    /scripts/restorepkg userA

    This will copy account of userA to server 2

    There is another option also

    In WHM of server 2 you will see copy single account from another server . Then it will ask for server1 details .
     
  6. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This assumes root access on the source server, and of course I usually only have cpanel access. I thus generate the full backup from the backup section in cpanel.

    I find that often the "copy single account with password" option doesn't work. It's hard to work out why, I just assume the source server is usually misconfigured, but then perhaps they've done something to prevent outward copy operations!
     
  7. angelina_holy

    angelina_holy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    brianoz

    If you have only cpanel access and want to move your account from one server to other than you will have to do manual ftp,. you are right

    You will need to use backup option in cpanel , generate full back up in home directory , then ftp it to your local machine
    then you can restore the backup from server 2
     
Loading...

Share This Page