The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transferring Accounts - Out of IP Addresses Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Starcraftmazter, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. Starcraftmazter

    Starcraftmazter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello.

    I need to transfer about 100 accounts owned by about 20 resellers from one server to another. Copying them individually, is out of the question - obviously.

    Both servers are on the latest CURRENT trees - so whm/cpanel 11.

    Now, it copies the first account fine, second file, and the rest fails, because of the error:
    "Account Creation Status: failed (Unable to find an ip address"
    The server has 3 IPs, the main shared IP and 2 for nameservers.

    How can this problem be fixed?


    Thanks.
     
  2. froglen

    froglen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here when transferring multiple accounts

    I'm getting the same thing - logs show: "Account Creation Status: failed (Unable to find an ip address"

    Just wondering if you found the problem with this?

    I can create a new user account - it just defaults the IP address to that of the server. I can also transfer accounts one-by-one but I have a LOT to transfer as replacing a server.

    Version: WHM 11.1.0 cPanel 11.4.19-R14379
     
  3. Starcraftmazter

    Starcraftmazter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nope, still no solution. I have WHM 11.2 now.
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would suggest, if no one provides an acceptable solution, you find some person/company experienced at this sort of thing.

    Transferring Reseller accounts is lot more tricky than if just Hosting accounts.

    Along with the current problems mentioned, if not done right then after the transfers are completed you will have to edit every DNS record so each Reseller has correct Ownership of 'their' Clients and each of 'their' Clients are using the correct Nameservers -- presuming each Reseller has 2 Dedicated IPs and Personal Nameservers.
     
  5. froglen

    froglen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Problem fixed

    I managed to overcome this problem quite simply.

    I added an unused virtual ethernet device eth1:1 with additional IP address.

    Cpanel never uses that device but it feels happy to have it available.

    Anyway now I have got the md5 checksum problem when doing multi-account transfers so it isn't all beer and skittles as they say but hope this helps someone else.
     
Loading...

Share This Page