Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Transferring database between MySQL 5.0 and MariahDB 10.0

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by wpsmort, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. wpsmort

    wpsmort Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a question about the Transfer Tool in WHM. What happens if you use this tool to transfer a cPanel account from a LAMP server running outdated packages including MySQL 5.0 to a LAMP server running updated packages including MariahDB 10.0?

    Will the Transfer Tool perform a MySQL dump and correctly import the database tables, accounting for the change in database versions?

    If not, what would be the correct method to transfer a cPanel account between servers so that the database will work?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,303
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    There's no support to transfer accounts from that environment. You can see a list of supported control panels we support transfers from at:

    Transfer Tool - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    You can manually create the account on the cPanel server and then import the database through phpMyAdmin or the command line. You can then use the database mapping tool to map a database to an account:

    Database Map Tool - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. wpsmort

    wpsmort Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, we recently performed a transfer like this and now we're seeing some errors. Is there anything we can do if we've already done a transfer between a server running MySQL 5.0 to a server running MariahDB 10.0? Or do we have to scrap the new server and perform the transfer again following the process you provided?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,303
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To clarify, are these both cPanel servers? If not, what steps did you take to complete the transfer?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. wpsmort

    wpsmort Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, these are both cPanel servers located with the same hosting company. We just moved from one data center to a different one, still with the same hosting company.

    The hosting company performed the transfer using this tool. The major difference between the two servers was that the old one was running MySQL 5.0 and the new one is running MariahDB 10.0. The transfer seemed to be successful and the transfer log shows no errors. However, we've started to get 500 Internal Server Errors and the logs show a large number of database errors. We're trying to determine if this was caused by using the transfer tool to perform a transfer to a server running MariahDB 10.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,303
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you provide the specific output you see in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when the website produces a "500" error message, in addition to the specific MySQL errors?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. wpsmort

    wpsmort Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I checked /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log and there are no errors produced in that log when you get the 500 error.

    Here are the MySQL errors:

    Code:
    WordPress database error Table 'mrtllc_sfwd_store.WP_AFF_PAYOUTS_TABLE' doesn't exist for query select * from WP_AFF_PAYOUTS_TABLE where refid = 'asimetria' ORDER BY date and time LIMIT 20 made by require('wp-blog-header.php'), require_once('wp-includes/template-loader.php'), include('/themes/springboard/index.php'), the_content, apply_filters('the_content'), call_user_func_array, do_shortcode, preg_replace_callback, do_shortcode_tag, call_user_func, wp_affiliate_view_handler, affiliate_platform_affiliate_view_main, wp_aff_payment_history_view, wp_aff_show_payment_history, wp_aff_payments_history
    
    WordPress database error Multiple primary key defined for query ALTER TABLE wpsfstdev_affiliates_leads_tbl ADD PRIMARY KEY (lead_id) made by activate_plugin, do_action('activate_wp-affiliate-platform/wp_affiliate_platform.php'), call_user_func_array, wp_aff_platform_install, wp_affiliate_platform_run_activation, wp_affiliate_platform_run_installer, dbDelta
    
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,303
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    This looks like an issue with that specific plugin. Do the errors go away when you disable it?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice