The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transferring site to new server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Oleg Dudkin, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. Oleg Dudkin

    Oleg Dudkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    I have a site on shared hosting.
    I've decided to move to dedicated server. New server with WHM has been set up.
    I've created new account for my site and moved all data to it (database and files) using cPanel. Everything works just fine but only with next URL
    http://server.ip.address/~accountname/
    I want to make my domain to point to new server.
    What should I do?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you changed your nameserver entries at your domain name registrar to point to the new server?
     
  3. Oleg Dudkin

    Oleg Dudkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I haven't changed anything related to nameservers. I actually want to know what to change, and where. What my new nameservers addresses are? Should I setup them some way or they are already configured?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That depends, I suppose.

    I take it you did not set it up, your provider did?

    Here's the Docs for Initial Setup, note the section on nameservers:
    WHM Initial Setup - cPanel Documentation
     
  5. Oleg Dudkin

    Oleg Dudkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are right, provider have done initial setup.
    so, I know my nameserver now.
    How can I bind them to my domain?
    Thanks.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You do this at your domain name registrar. (godaddy for example)
     
  7. Oleg Dudkin

    Oleg Dudkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks a lot.
    One more question, does it matter that I've chosen "Use the nameservers specified at the Domain’s Registrar" DNS option when created account?
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, if the IPs are different.
     
  9. Oleg Dudkin

    Oleg Dudkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can I change this option for account to make it use my new dns servers?
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Updating the namservers IPs at your domain name registrar should work I believe.
     
  11. Oleg Dudkin

    Oleg Dudkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How can I find nameservers IPs ? I can't ping them for some reason. Can I repeat nameservers setup process?
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    WHM > DNS Functions > Nameserver IPs should display the current IPs.

    You might want to check what IPs you have with your host that setup the server as well, in case these are not correct.
     
  13. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please ensure in WHM > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup that you have your private nameservers setup properly and that you've assigned the right IPs there by selecting "Add an A entry for this nameserver" and putting in the correct IP you've used at the domain registrar. This will create a DNS zone with the nameserver entries and the A record IP entries that are required to work in conjunction with the registered nameservers at your domain registrar.

    Additionally, after you register your nameservers at your domain registrar, please ensure to change your main domain to use those newly registered nameservers.

    As a final note, since Nameserver IPs will only pull information for display purposes, it doesn't always mesh with what you've set at your domain registrar nor update when you update Basic cPanel & WHM Setup area. It pretty much can pull up cached information there.
     
Loading...

Share This Page