The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tripwire and LES (Rfxnetworks)

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by sh4ka, Sep 22, 2005.

  1. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm, having problems installing Tripwire on my cPanel box...
    Please, can anyone tell me how to compile it and install it for a RHAS 3 system ?

    Also, can LES (http://www.rfxnetworks.com/les.php) be installed on a cPanel system? would it conflict with cPanel, and an important thing, can it be set to send cron reports via mail?

    thkz!
     
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    For Tripwire follow the documentation, it isn't too difficult if you go through the steps. There are also RPMs for Tripwire out there.

    LES doesn't work that well, it shuts down some things Cpanel needs.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I wouldn't use LES either, it seems to cause more problems that it helps with. I've posted an effective way for installing tripwire on these forums in the past.
     
  4. gr8ex

    gr8ex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    resource usage of tripwire

    Hi,

    Can anyone give an idea about the resource usage of tripwire??. Will it overload the server?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's quite intensive when it runs - similar to updatedb when it updates the slocate database.
     
Loading...

Share This Page