The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trouble installing PHP-APC

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yakatz9, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. yakatz9

    yakatz9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I tried installing APC through the PECL manager in WHM, but it gives error after error.
    When I build it manually using the instructions on APC Alternative PHP Cache on a CPanel Server | WP Performance, it works fine (although I did not run 'make install' because I do not want to break anything.

    Thought? Suggestions?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. yakatz9

    yakatz9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    For anyone who searches and finds this thread, the quick answer is install it from the command line. WHM will see that it is installed, but will still not be able to update, reinstall or uninstall it.
     
  4. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My problem is somewhat different. The installation is fine, but it doesn't seem as if the APC cache can run more than 15-30 minutes before it restarts.

    Basically using latest RELEASE branch of cPanel, APC 3.1.9, PHP 5.3.8.

    Settings in APC are as follows:

    Runtime Settings
    apc.cache_by_default 1
    apc.canonicalize 1
    apc.coredump_unmap 0
    apc.enable_cli 0
    apc.enabled 1
    apc.file_md5 0
    apc.file_update_protection 2
    apc.filters
    apc.gc_ttl 3600
    apc.include_once_override 0
    apc.lazy_classes 0
    apc.lazy_functions 0
    apc.max_file_size 1M
    apc.mmap_file_mask
    apc.num_files_hint 1024
    apc.preload_path
    apc.report_autofilter 0
    apc.rfc1867 0
    apc.rfc1867_freq 0
    apc.rfc1867_name APC_UPLOAD_PROGRESS
    apc.rfc1867_prefix upload_
    apc.rfc1867_ttl 3600
    apc.serializer default
    apc.shm_segments 1
    apc.shm_size 128M
    apc.slam_defense 1
    apc.stat 1
    apc.stat_ctime 0
    apc.ttl 7200
    apc.use_request_time 1
    apc.user_entries_hint 4096
    apc.user_ttl 7200
    apc.write_lock 1

    I welcome advise on what to change.

    Peace,
    Gene
     
  5. yakatz9

    yakatz9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If your problem is different, then your post is more likely to be noticed if you start your own thread with an appropriate subject.
     
  6. Gene Steinberg

    Gene Steinberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    OK, posted.

    Hopefully someone can answer the issues, to which I've added some more. :)

    Peace,
    Gene
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page