The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trust Relationship f

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jsteel, Sep 17, 2002.

  1. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm trying to set up a slave server, but I'm not getting any of the zone data being transferred. I noticed an error when creating a trust relationship. Here's the output (I've masked the IPs below); any ideas?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Generating public/private rsa key pair.
    /root/.ssh/id_rsa already exists.
    Overwrite (y/n)? Generating public/private dsa key pair.
    /root/.ssh/id_dsa already exists.
    Overwrite (y/n)? spawn scp /root/.sshscript root@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:/root/.sshscript
    root@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx's password: Sending password


    stdin: is not a tty

    .sshscript 0% | | 0 --:-- ETA
    .sshscript 100% |*****************************| 415 00:00


    spawn /usr/bin/ssh root@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx /bin/sh /root/.sshscript
    root@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx's password:
    Script ok
    Copy Complete
    stdin: is not a tty
    /root/.sshscript: /root/.ssh/authorized_keys: No such file or directory
    Trust Relationship Created!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks,
    Jaz
     
  2. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    From /root, check for a .ssh directory. If there isn't one available, create it, then rerun the trust. It will then be able to write authorized_keys to that directory and populate things for you.
     
  3. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It's there, and there is an entry for the IP of NS1 in the known_hosts file.

    Jaz
     
  4. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is that on the master box? Check the slave box - it will need that directory, as well. Within that directory, you can also

    touch authorized_keys

    if the directory exists but the file does not. We've had to do it both ways (create the directory -or- create the file) from time to time as various servers came online in order to get the trust set.
     
  5. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    That did it! Thanks. I just had to create the authroized_keys file and then the trust went through fine and synchronization works like a charm.

    What a pain in the *ss!

    Thanks again,
    Jaz
     
  6. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No problem. Reporting this one has been on my list of things to do for awhile, but the behavior is not consistent enough to make a good report.
     
  7. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am receiving &Permission denied, please try again.& error :(

    and on master server:

    Sep 18 07:00:58 XXX sshd(pam_unix)[11010]: authentication failure; logname= uid=0 euid=0 tty=NODEVssh ruser= rhost=XXX.XXXXXXX.net user=root

    How to fix it??
     

Share This Page