The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Try to re-install bind with CentOS [Please help]

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by 3en, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. 3en

    3en Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm trying to re-install Bind, EximStats and Mysql becuase it has failed and was not install properly.

    I tried to go to RPM Package Installer, but nothing was listed there.
    So then in SSH I typed: /scripts/ensurerpm bind (instructed by the good people in the cPanel IRC chatroom)

    I get the error:

    retrygrab() failed for:
    http://mirror.centos.org/centos-3/3.3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    Executing failover method
    failover: out of servers to try
    Error getting file http://mirror.centos.org/centos-3/3.3/addons/i386/headers/header.info
    [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error >

    This comes up even when running /scripts/sysup. So my box can't connect to CentOS

    My reslover name servers are:
    nameserver 209.16.211.42
    nameserver 204.194.10.206

    They are my ISP's Savvis.net name server ips.
    I had them as my own ip's before to see if that would work but nothing.

    Please help, thanks in advance.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    What do you get back if you type in:

    dig mirror.centos.org
     
  3. 3en

    3en Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Also when I try to ping mirror.centos.org I get: ping: unknown host mirror.centos.org

    I get the following with a dig:


    root@cpanel1 [~]# dig mirror.centos.org

    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.4rc6 <<>> mirror.centos.org
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 5025
    ;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 13, ADDITIONAL: 13

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;mirror.centos.org. IN A

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    . 482502 IN NS c.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS d.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS e.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS f.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS g.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS h.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS i.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS j.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS k.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS l.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS m.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS a.root-servers.net.
    . 482502 IN NS b.root-servers.net.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    a.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 198.41.0.4
    b.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 192.228.79.201
    c.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 192.33.4.12
    d.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 128.8.10.90
    e.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 192.203.230.10
    f.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 192.5.5.241
    g.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 192.112.36.4
    h.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 128.63.2.53
    i.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 192.36.148.17
    j.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 192.58.128.30
    k.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 193.0.14.129
    l.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 198.32.64.12
    m.root-servers.net. 568902 IN A 202.12.27.33

    ;; Query time: 44 msec
    ;; SERVER: 209.16.211.42#53(209.16.211.42)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Nov 8 22:28:17 2004
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 454
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Those DNS servers are not resolvers and are of no use to you. Two options:

    1. Contact your server provider and ask them what DNS resolver servers you should use.

    2. Download the BIND RPM(s) to your PC and then use SFTP to upload it to your server from http://mirror.centos.org/centos-3/3.3/os/i386/RedHat/RPMS/ then run:

    rpm -Fvh filename.rpm

    If it won't take (and only if it fails because it says that it is already installed):

    rpm -Fvh --force filename.rpm

    You would then need to list your main IP address in /etc/resolv.conf and possibly rebuild your named.conf with:

    /scripts/rebuildnamedconf
     
  5. 3en

    3en Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you. You're very helpfull. :-D

    Thanks again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page