The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to Get Rid of Account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hbog, May 13, 2003.

  1. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay, I had an account lets call it domainname.com.
    I could not get rid of the default index.html page after ftping new info. So I terminated the account. It is know where to be found. Except if you type domainname.com in the browser. So what can I do to get rid of it? Where is it hiding? Any ideas?
     
  2. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In your cache. :rolleyes: Why dont you drop your browser cache sometime.
     
  3. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No that is not it....That is a first I always do. It just seems that this site is not terminating.
     
  4. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would not post if it was a cache prob. I have a customers site to complete but I can't get it to go. Something is wrong somewhere on the server. The domain is not being deleted.
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Two things;

    1. If you ping it do you get the correct IP for it?

    2. Look at httpd.conf for any signs of it in there.
     
  6. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I checked the httpd.config removed ALL signs of it.
     
  7. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It still is doing the same makes no sense...
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Is it though resolving to your server?

    Have you stop/started apache (not restart)
     
  9. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It is resolving...Can't do anything with it. I am really confused about this. Stopped apache still there. There is something somewhere causing this.
     
  10. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    ok ..do this.


    you say the http://domain.com works and is resolving to your box when you ping or trace to that. ??

    what do you get when you try.

    http://yourIP/~that-username/

    ???? same site?

    If you don't get that site then it's your isp using some sort of cache on you. Go to their nearest office ..find the idiot that is in charge of that idea and take him out back and shoot him in the head!!!
     
  11. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay here is an example:

    1 - I set-up webmailhome.com

    Go to webmailhome.com ... you get "welcome"

    Tried FTP and it did not change the site index.html

    2 - Terminated account.

    3 - Then still had the "welcome" page after terminated.

    4 - I set-up another account. Same thing.

    5 - If you go to: http://216.67.234.122/~webmail/index.html
    you can see some of the site.

    6 - Even had tried before the above to do the same with the account with a dedicated IP and am getting this: 216.67.234.126

    If I terminate it ALL I get the "Welcome" page still.

    CONFUSING HUH????
     
  12. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    beats me ..only thing I can figure is the /webmail/ username is screwing with the systemwide alais to the built-in webmail somehow.

    when I try both of those IPs I get you htdocs page which I should. It's only the domain i get the welcome.

    But I have news for you.

    that domain resolves to 66.246.37.207 Not the IP your posted.
     
  13. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did this:

    DNS Results:

    webmailhome.com has address 216.67.234.126



    Zone Information:
    webmailhome.com SOA ns1.bluelimits.net. hbog.bellsouth.net. 1052918241 28800 7200 3600000 86400
    webmailhome.com mail is handled by 0 webmailhome.com.
    webmailhome.com name server ns1.bluelimits.net.
    webmailhome.com name server ns2.bluelimits.net.
    webmailhome.com has address 216.67.234.126
    ftp.webmailhome.com is an alias for webmailhome.com.
    localhost.webmailhome.com has address 127.0.0.1
    mail.webmailhome.com is an alias for webmailhome.com.
    www.webmailhome.com is an alias for webmailhome.com.
    webmailhome.com SOA ns1.bluelimits.net. hbog.bellsouth.net. 1052918241 28800 7200 3600000 86400
     
  14. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ping 66.246.37.207
    [webmailhome.com]

    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 31 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 16 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 16 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 16 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 16 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 31 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 15 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 32 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 15 ms
    Round trip time to 66.246.37.207: 32 ms


    Average time over 10 pings: 22 ms
     
  15. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  16. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Going to http://webmailhome.com/ shows a page that says "WORKS NOW!!!!"

    I take it the problem is solved?

    Current info (from various sources) all show the domain resolving to 66.246.37.207 -- even has a rDNS.
     
  17. hbog

    hbog Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes. I got it solved. Thanks!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page