The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to install GNOME. Says httpd missing...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CrewXp, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. CrewXp

    CrewXp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey, I'm trying to install GNOME on CentOs 5.0, but I'm getting a weird message.

    I have Cpanel 11, so naturally I have apache.

    But it's giving me this....

    "Missing Dependency: httpd >= 2.2.0 is needed by package gnome-user-share".

    I'm seriously stumped on how to fix this...
     
  2. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    Don't use graphical interface with cpanel. It while break more things.
     
  3. CrewXp

    CrewXp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well I need to install a Virtual Image of Windows for programming reasons.
     
  4. Voltar

    Voltar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bakersfield, California
    Use VMware Server? You can create the image on another computer, upload it to the server, boot it, and use remote desktop to access it.
     
  5. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What version of Apache are you running? Gnome is looking for Apache 2.2.0 or greater.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to use the --nodeps flag for RPM to ignore the package dependencies.

    Your goal might be better served with things like VMware, as others pointed out, then installing X and a GUI Desktop on your server.
     
  7. CrewXp

    CrewXp Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is there any way to tell yum to not process the apache dependency?


    Apache is installed.... my httpd.conf file is located in "/usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf"

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page