The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to install Linux with cPanel using CD from the cPanel site

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lansy1, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. lansy1

    lansy1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have been trying to install Linux with Cpanel for hours and hours and it is so frustrating. Linux installs and I reboot and Cpanel says it is installing and I always go back to bash-3.2#. I found on the CentOS site you should not use the "root" as the username but I cannot find out where to make a new one and do I have to have my static I.P. addresses in order to finish the installation? If so, I am in a terrible bind because we plan to use a colocation to house our servers and we are getting our static I.P. addresses from them. Any help WOULD BE SO APPRECIATED!! Thank you.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,476
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. lansy1

    lansy1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have already went through this many times as I stated earlier. It is very basic and my problems were not addressed.


     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,476
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I see no comment in your first post stating you were aware of the docs I've linked you to.

    You DO need to be root user to install cPanel onto your server, and you WILL need to have a dedicated IP.
     
  5. lansy1

    lansy1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you very much for your reply. I am trying to install this at our facility and send it to a colocation. I can get the static IP address from our colo and install them in the initial install then send to our colo and once installed and powered up with their static IP's we should be good? In other words is this how it could be done using a colocation? Thank you in advance!
     
Loading...

Share This Page