The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TTL change

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by postcd, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    i have two shared reseller cpanel accounts with WHM access. THese are not servers so i have limitted access.
    I have a domain name nameservers registered with namecheap which all like 60 resold accounts using

    I want to change TTL value for these nameservers, but namecheap appears not to support this.

    So i want to ask what is the quick way to change this TTL value on my reseller accounts. By low TTL i want to minimise downtime when nameserver IPs are changed.

    Also which TTL overrides parent (domain registar) or child (my server dns zone)?
     
    #1 postcd, Apr 8, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can lower the TTL in the zones of the domains to be copied on their authoritative nameserver. For example, if "example.com" is a domain to be copied, and it's DNS is handled on the cPanel server, you would need to lower the TTL in the zone for example.com by using the "Edit a DNS Zone" option in WHM. After lowering the TTL, that change needs to propagate throughout the Internet just like any other DNS change, so it's best to wait up to 48 hours before performing the migration.

    Thank you.
     
  3. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I dont know what is other option than handled on cPanel server?
    My domain has nameservers which are registered at namecheap..
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For instance, sometimes DNS for a domain name is handled by the registrar itself. However, provided the name servers you registered use IP addresses associated with the cPanel server, then the cPanel server handles the DNS. You can verify this by looking at the IP addresses associated with your name servers when looking up a domain name on a website such as IntoDNS.

    Thank you.
     
  5. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thx, from what You said i understand that my server DNS Zone files TTL matters over TTL of nameservers in my domain registar. Can i change this TTL somehow in bulk while i have around 60 resold accounts on my reseller hositng plans?

    2. you say i can veriffy that on intoDNS: cpanel.net - check DNS server and mail server health, can you please tell which value i should exactly look at on that intodns page?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. You can not make changes to all of your zones at the same time unless you have "root" access via SSH.

    2. Where it shows "Nameserver records returned by the parent servers are", look to see if the IP addresses assigned to those name servers are the same IP addresses added to your cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
  7. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes it is.. so my question was on how to discover who handles my TTL? If matters TTL which is on namecheap where i have nameservers registered or if matters (gets higher priority) a TTL which i have in zone file on my server?

    I mean my internet service provider which TTL value takes in account for caching nameserver IP? I cant change TTL at namecheap i think
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, then please how can i determine that TTL is configured on domain registar side, not on my server?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not sure what specifically you are asking. The TTL value is configured in the DNS Zone on your cPanel server based on the information you have provided.

    Thank you.
     
    postcd likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page