The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turn off individual addon CGI Scripts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Maistre, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. Maistre

    Maistre Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Is there anyway to turn on/off addon cgi scripts in users cPanels?

    Pre-Installed CGI Scripts

    * Interchange Cart
    * Agora Cart
    * Bulletin Board
    * Java Chat
    * HTML Chat
    * phpMyChat
    * CGI Wrapper (for non-suexec installs)
    * Random HTML generator
    * Advanced Guestbook
    * Counter Generator
    * Java Clock Generator
    * Java Countdown Generator
    * Secure FormMail clone
    * CGIEmail
    * Entropy Search
    * Entropy Banner

    The ability to turn off selected scripts would be great. I do not want Counter, formail clone or Guestbooks to show.

    Can this be done? How?
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The WHM Feature Manager will allow you to select/deselect these features.
     
  3. Maistre

    Maistre Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Some items... not all... or at least I've not run into it. Where would I find the place to shut-off Counters and Guestbooks from showing in user's cPanels?
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    If I go to WHM > Packages > Feature Manager and choose to edit the default feature list I get a long long list of features and all those you mention are present.

    You should just be able to uncheck those that you don't want and they should then not be visible through cPanel.

    That's the theory anyway, can't say I've tried it!

    Do you not have all the options you listed present in the default feature list, or indeed any other feature list?

    Are you logging into WHM as the root user or as a reseller? As a reseller you might not have sufficient privileges.
     
  5. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Just checked . . .

    I've just tried removing some of your listed features from my default feature list and once done they are no longer present in cPanel.

    Therefore it should work for you, that is assuming that you are the root user.
     
  6. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Features Manager Settings Doesn't work always due to bug
    Try disabling Default Adrdress and the cPanel user would still be able to fiddle the default address via the Forwarders page thru a link right at the bottom of Forwarders page

    bugzilla id 2499 dated 16th May 2005:

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=2499

    Vote for this BUG if this bothers you.

    Anup
     
    #6 anup123, Jun 8, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2005
  7. Maistre

    Maistre Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Thanks all.... Webignition... that did the trick.
     
Loading...

Share This Page