The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turn on EXEC() ?!?!?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mvital, Nov 10, 2005.

  1. mvital

    mvital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    hi all

    i just bought modernbill system and activate enon module and cause this error :


    i talk with modernbill suport and they said that i need to do the following:


    have 2 questions :

    1st: are good ideia to turn on exec() ???
    2st: if so how can i do it ?? if its not a good ideia there is some turna around to have this working ??

    Thz
    Best Regards

    Mario Vital
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If you want ModerBill to work, you have to turn on exec(). SSH to your server and locate php.ini and add a exec() directive there.
     
  3. PvUtrix

    PvUtrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ekaterinburg - Russia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's not entirely accurate...
    you have to remove "exec" from a line starting with disable_funtions in php.ini
     
  4. mvital

    mvital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    thz guys
    but, how can i do it ... :confused:

    newbiee here , further help will be apreciated ....
     
  5. PvUtrix

    PvUtrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ekaterinburg - Russia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1) create a php file contatining
    PHP:
    phpinfo();
    and open it

    2)find the path to your php.ini by looking for "Configuration File (php.ini) Path"

    3)edit your php.ini by typing
    Code:
    pico /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini
    (your path could be different)

    4) ctrl+w to search for "disable_functions"

    5) remove "exec" from the list

    6) Save php.ini and restart apache
     
  6. mvital

    mvital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    thz PvUtrix

    i will try and say if fixes this problem.

    Best regards
    Mario Vital
     
  7. mvital

    mvital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    ok
    i dont have anything listing under the disable_functions ?

    Code:
    
    ; Safe Mode
    safe_mode               =       On
    safe_mode_exec_dir      =
    safe_mode_allowed_env_vars = PHP_                                       ; Setting certain environment variables
                                                                                                            ; may be a potential security breach.
                                                                                                            ; This directive contains a comma-delimited
                                                                                                            ; list of prefixes.  In Safe Mode, the
                                                                                                            ; user may only alter environment
                                                                                                            ; variables whose names begin with the
                                                                                                            ; prefixes supplied here.
                                                                                                            ; By default, users will only be able
                                                                                                            ; to set environment variables that begin
                                                                                                            ; with PHP_ (e.g. PHP_FOO=BAR).
                                                                                                            ; Note:  If this directive is empty, PHP
                                                                                                            ; will let the user modify ANY environment
                                                                                                            ; variable!
    safe_mode_protected_env_vars = LD_LIBRARY_PATH          ; This directive contains a comma-
                                                                                                            ; delimited list of environment variables,
                                                                                                            ; that the end user won't be able to
                                                                                                            ; change using putenv().
                                                                                                            ; These variables will be protected
                                                                                                            ; even if safe_mode_allowed_env_vars is
                                                                                                            ; set to allow to change them.
    
    
    disable_functions       =                                                               ; This directive allows you to disable certain
                                                                                                            ; functions for security reasons.  It receives
                                                                                                            ; a comma separated list of function names.
                                                                                                            ; This directive is *NOT* affected by whether
                                                                                                            ; Safe Mode is turned on or off.
    
    
    
    any other reason for that error ???
     
  8. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    It's not impossible that you're looking at the wrong php.ini file. There's a good chance you are looking at the right file, but it does no harm to check.

    From ssh, when logged in as root, type: locate php.ini

    You will probably find more than one, probably around 3. One will be being used by your public PHP installation and, if I remember correctly, one for cPanel's PHP and one example.

    To be on the safe side, check all three in succession and see if any have anything for the 'disable_functions' setting.
     
  9. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When you have safe_mode on, exec() doesn't work.
     
  10. mvital

    mvital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lisbon - PORTUGAL
    thz for your reply´s i will take a better look to all php.ini

    i believe that i correct the right one ( i run phpinfo file ) and it gives me /usr/local/Zendetc/php.ini

    thz again guys.. ;)
    best regards
     
  11. budway

    budway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    get a managed company you clearly don't know what you are doing.

    Best of the luck!
     
Loading...

Share This Page