The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tweak Settings, Default Address :fail: problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vwiley1, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I have found a bug which I think should be addressed.

    In WHM, I have used the Tweak Settings to set all default addresses to :fail: on account creation.

    While this works on new accounts to the server.. It does not work properly when adding an add-on domain or sub-domain.

    To be more specific:

    Add-On Domain Creation
    fakedomain.com default address is set to USERNAME
    fakedomain.maindomain.com default address is set to :fail:

    Sub-Domain Creation
    subdomain.maindomain.com default address is set to USERNAME


    As you can see, only the sub-domain that is setup when adding an add-on domain is following the rules set in tweak settings.

    On my servers, I do not let clients edit the default address.. I have disabled the feature. I had problems with some ISP's blocking mail from my server when a client set the default address to their local ISP email account. The ISP blocks my server rather than the server the spammer sent the mail from.

    I also have an exim dictionary attack ACL installed, so spammers targetting a domain get blocked from the server. The dictionary attack ACL only works if the default address is set to :fail: and I really don't want to have to set this manually for every sub-domain and add-on domain added to the server.

    I have created a bug report here:
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5164

    Please vote on this bug so it gets addressed.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    edit I concur
     
    #2 dalem, Feb 11, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2007
  3. hawk16

    hawk16 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bug Confirmed, it would be nice to see a fix.
     
  4. SageBrian

    SageBrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY/CT (US)
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just noticed this also.
    Now I've got some editing to do.

    Anyone have a script that can quickly set all the defaults to fail?
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note - I'm not disputing the usefulness of setting the default address when creating addon and sub domains, just popping in here to clarify something.

    The tweak setting in question only applies to creation of cPanel accounts. Addon and sub-domains don't create cPanel accounts, therefore the tweak setting does not apply to them. As such this is not a bug but a request for feature expansion - making the setting apply to more than cPanel accounts.
     
  6. SageBrian

    SageBrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY/CT (US)
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good point about account versus sub-domains.
    However, since setting up a sub-domain (or parked) allows for email delivery to that domain, it would then follow that the default mail delivery settings should be in effect.
    You are, in essence, setting up a new mail address. And, it get's default settings from somewhere. :) Just not from the given tweak setting.

    One could therefore debate that it is, indeed, a bug. (new mail accounts setup using Park/Addon/Subdomains are not using proper Default Setting)

    Either way, it would be nice if the 'feature' was expanded.

    [this is not meant to be argumentative or disagreeable]
     
  7. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have to agree with Brian on this one. It shouldn't be a hard change for cPanel to include in the next stable version.

    Brian, refer to this thread for a script to change defaults to :fail:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=30987

    Make sure to read the entire thread, there is an updated script later in the thread which you may want to use.
     
  8. vwiley1

    vwiley1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Care to share any edit's you have made before I possibly reinvent the wheel?
     
Loading...

Share This Page