The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

two same subdomain is diffrent domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by szym2, Apr 25, 2004.

  1. szym2

    szym2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How to add subdomain ie abc in domain zxy.com
    and after that add subdomain abc in domain ert.com
    These subdomain would have the same directory :confused:
     
  2. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Question: What is "xyz.com"? Is this the primary account domain? If so, what is "ert.com"? An add-on domain?

    Subdomains all go off the primary root public_html folder. Therefore, abc.zxy.com will be public_html/abc and a abc subdomain setup on an addon domain ert.com will also point to public_html/abc and not public_html/ert/abc as you might expect.

    You can override this by manually modifying your /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    Search for abc.ert.com and change the DocumentRoot to the directory you want (ie. /home/xyz/public_html/ert/abc)

    Restart apache for good measure.
     
    #2 myrem, Apr 25, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2004
  3. szym2

    szym2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    exectly :mad:
    Im admin and i know it
    But what does user have to do ?
    Also i know he can write some rules for rewrite mod but I won't to teach him it
    Any other ideas
     
  4. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    sorry, there is no way around this other than manually modifying the httpd.conf file or otherwise getting into complex Rewrites. "Add-On" domains weren't designed to offer complete and separate domain accounts.. perhaps cpanel will enhance this in the future, but right now, there is no easy way to do what your client wants.

    If you don't wish to manage the manual aspects or rewrites, your best bet at this point is to offer the client a second account to host thier ert.com domain. -- or, simply tell the client that the subdomain names need to be unique.
     
  5. szym2

    szym2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for quick reply
     
Loading...

Share This Page