The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

two servers, want to migrate one to the other. Did a backup, but where is the data?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by cspanchiq, May 20, 2013.

  1. cspanchiq

    cspanchiq Registered

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, I have two servers. One of them is extremely expensive (A) that we have a website on, so we want to move it over to the cheaper server (B).

    on the expensive server (A) i went to cpanel -> files -> backups -> download/generate full website backup.

    Then I went into the cheaper server (B) and FTPd into the expensive server (A) and downloaded the backup I created.

    I went to the WHM of the cheaper server (B), and did a "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File" on the file I got from the expensive server (A).

    The restore was successful, but I don't see the website or the files that was on server A. I don't see the username folder of the account I'm trying to move over.

    I think there are more steps involved here, could someone help me out?
     
  2. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    From your description, I could not find where exactly you went wrong.

    You can find the detailed steps here:

    - Links Removed -
     
    #2 Veeble-Adam, May 21, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 21, 2013
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please post answers to forum threads on this forum, on this forum. There should be no need to link to your own website with an answer.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It sounds like you have root access to both of these servers. If so, you can ensure the account does not exist on the destination server and then transfer it via:

    "WHM Home » Transfers » Copy an Account From Another Server"

    This option is documented at:

    Copy An Account From Another Server

    If you only have access to cPanel, then you took the correct steps. Have you consulted with your web hosting provider on the destination server to see if they can investigate the cause of the problem for you?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page