The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Two sites with one host

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mansugi, Dec 22, 2003.

  1. mansugi

    mansugi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Noob here have a few questions.

    I have a Cpanel as my host. Currently I have a domain site uploaded and running. I need to upload another domain site to this same host.

    Both of my domain names are register at another location. How do I link it as far as the URL.

    Can somebody help me with these.

    Happy Holidays

    R2
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you want to use another Domain name, within the same Hosting account, and have it show it's own Web pages, then use the Addon Domain feature of Cpanel.

    Your Hoster should be first contact for these types of questions, they know the type of account you have and are best able to help.
     
  3. mansugi

    mansugi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply.

    I don't have access/way of contacting the hoster. On the Cpanel home page, there is help but no information about asking questions to the hoster.

    Regards,

    R2
     
  4. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Look for support information on the host's website.
     
  5. mansugi

    mansugi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No support information either.

    R2
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Your hosting providers website has to have a way to contact them.
     
  7. mansugi

    mansugi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Probably they do, but I don't see anywhere in the front page that says anything about how to contact them.

    Maybe I don't look hard enough.

    I will give it a try one more time.

    Wish me luck.

    R2
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did the information I posted help solve your problem? And your Hoster had to contact you, to give you the account login information. Their WHOIS information should helpful as well -- if not, they don't want people contacting them and maybe it's time to look for another hosting provider.
     
  9. mansugi

    mansugi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope,

    Don't have any contact info about the hoster. I guess they don't want me to bother them.

    Here a very good question. If I can addon another domain site to my host, can I have 2 index file in my file manager. One index per domain name?

    TIA.

    R2
     
  10. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, you could. Try the addon domain function. If it doesn't work, then you need to create a new hosting account or contact the host. If they don't give you support, you SERIOUSLY should consider switching hosts.
     
  11. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    A hosting company that can't be contacted is something I would stay a long way from.
     
  12. mansugi

    mansugi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    Thank you very much for all your help.

    I did double check the home page and it is a Cpanel X and there is no way of contacting the system admin.

    I think the host is "primesource-hosting.com."

    Can anybody recommend another good hosting company or I cannot ask this in a public forum.

    Thanks

    R2
     
  13. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A WHOIS showed their phone number to be: 413-451-0534 -- no idea if valid or not.

    As for choosing another Hoster, I think you have many good ones to choose from, from among this very Forum. :D
     
  14. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    The website shows contact methods on the page at
    http://urban-isp.net/contacts.html

    The problem with asking here is that a large number of us are hosters.

    I suggest checking members home pages and sig's and look for something that sounds like what you want.
     
Loading...

Share This Page