The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Udp / Dns ?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by DjMiX, Dec 22, 2005.

  1. DjMiX

    DjMiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    The AFNIC, which is the equivalent of the ICANN in France, for .fr domain names, tells me that to setup a .fr domain name on our servers, my server must answer to UDP on port 53...

    Here is the definition:

    * Réf: IETF RFC1035 (p.32 4.2. Transport)

    The DNS assumes that messages will be transmitted as datagrams or in a byte stream carried by a virtual circuit. While virtual circuits can be used for any DNS activity, datagrams are preferred for queries due to their lower overhead and better performance.

    How can I fix this ?

    Regards
     
  2. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    how can you fix what ?

    bind runs on port 53 udp already
     
  3. DjMiX

    DjMiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well they tell me server doesn't answer on UDP requests on port 53...
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Then "they" would have to "fix" it, since they're controlling the server.

    Or, you can find another host. Nothing you can do about it.
     
  5. DjMiX

    DjMiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am the host lol...
     
  6. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    May have misunderstood... who's "they" then? I assume then that you have full control of your server, and not a reseller package from someone else?
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If your server is not responding to UDP requests to port 53 then either:

    1. bind isn't running correctly on the server
    2. You have port 53/udp blocked in a hardware/software firewall for your server
     
Loading...

Share This Page