Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Udp / Dns ?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by DjMiX, Dec 22, 2005.

  1. DjMiX

    DjMiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello,

    The AFNIC, which is the equivalent of the ICANN in France, for .fr domain names, tells me that to setup a .fr domain name on our servers, my server must answer to UDP on port 53...

    Here is the definition:

    * Réf: IETF RFC1035 (p.32 4.2. Transport)

    The DNS assumes that messages will be transmitted as datagrams or in a byte stream carried by a virtual circuit. While virtual circuits can be used for any DNS activity, datagrams are preferred for queries due to their lower overhead and better performance.

    How can I fix this ?

    Regards
     
  2. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    how can you fix what ?

    bind runs on port 53 udp already
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DjMiX

    DjMiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Well they tell me server doesn't answer on UDP requests on port 53...
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Then "they" would have to "fix" it, since they're controlling the server.

    Or, you can find another host. Nothing you can do about it.
     
  5. DjMiX

    DjMiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I am the host lol...
     
  6. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    May have misunderstood... who's "they" then? I assume then that you have full control of your server, and not a reseller package from someone else?
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If your server is not responding to UDP requests to port 53 then either:

    1. bind isn't running correctly on the server
    2. You have port 53/udp blocked in a hardware/software firewall for your server
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice