The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to access newly installed WHM.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by karan4web, May 11, 2014.

  1. karan4web

    karan4web Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I was using my server without WHM. All services were installed by my previous technical guy but he dint install WHM.
    So last night i installed WHM using SSH. and ever since i am unable to login to WHM, my website is down and my SSH root password is also not working.

    I installed WHM following this link
    Step 6: Install cPanel & WHM (or cPanel DNSONLY)

    Opening my website using both domain name and IP ADDRESS gives me
    www.my-domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    Please any1 help.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. karan4web

    karan4web Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    ok so if now i setup WHM, will it effect my files and database?
    i have an ecommerce portal and dont wanna loose any data.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, it will. You should backup any important data right now for safe keeping. Installing cPanel after the fact (you've already got an account on the server) is a bad idea.
     
  5. karan4web

    karan4web Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    ok i have backed up my files. but as i am unable to use ssh with root password i am unable to backup my sql database. what can i do regarding that.
     
  6. karan4web

    karan4web Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I still have not setup the WHM. Is there anything i can do to get things back to normal?
    I found this somewhere...

    My files are hosted in var/www/XXXXX.com/public_html

    will changing the path make my things back to normal?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You won't be able to sort this out I don't think, without reloading the server operating system and then install cPanel.

    Assuming your server is hosted by a Hosting Provider somewhere, you might contact them about this.
     
  8. karan4web

    karan4web Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    so if i setup WHM it will delete my sql data too? i asked the support team to help me with it and they say they can try. since i do not pay them for managing the virtual machine they wont be bothering much i am sure.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    They should be able to assist you with getting into the server to retrieve the database I would think.
     
  10. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    You mentioned you can't access the server via ssh as the root user. This is normally by design. Can you access the server via ssh as a user? Then use su - to see if you can access root from there?

    Once you have root, the best way to backup your MySQL database is to use mysqldump
     
  11. karan4web

    karan4web Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    yes now i have the root access. the server guy did it for me.
    so the domain is redirecting to /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    I am trying to edit it and change to folder where my files were saved i.e /var/www/MYDOMAIN/public_html
    will that help anyhow?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page