Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to access WHM through browser

Discussion in 'Security' started by umer Shahzad, Jun 11, 2017.

  1. umer Shahzad

    umer Shahzad Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i have installed whm cpanel successfully on centos 6.5 but i can't access through browser. i enter ip of server in browser it shows can't reache error . i stop the iptables also.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,766
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. umer Shahzad

    umer Shahzad Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i follow these step by step installation is ok but i don;t know why it not open in browser by ip i use https://ip:2087 but it can't reache error show
     
  4. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    do you have any firewall on your local machine ? that may be blocking the connections. You need to browse the WHM with https://serverIP:2087 URL
     
  5. umer Shahzad

    umer Shahzad Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No i don't have any firewall .i try with https://ip:2087 than it redirect to hostname of server .
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,766
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, apparently something is not ok. :)

    What does this mean exactly? The server comes up but you can't login?
     
  7. umer Shahzad

    umer Shahzad Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No Server is not come ip change in to hostname in browser and browser show can't reache to webserver.example.edu.pk
     
    #7 umer Shahzad, Jun 13, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2017
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can try temporarily disabling the SSL requirement with a command such as:

    Code:
    whmapi1 set_tweaksetting key=requiressl value=0
    /scripts/restartsrv_cpsrvd
    Then, access WHM with a URL like this:

    Code:
    http://IP-Address:2086
    Remember to enable "Require SSL for cPanel Services" under the "Security" tab in "WHM >> Tweak Settings" after setting up the "A" record for your hostname.

    Thank you.

    Edit: Fixed WHM URL
     
  9. umer Shahzad

    umer Shahzad Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, that's correct. You'd use "http" with port 2086.

    Thank you.
     
  11. umer Shahzad

    umer Shahzad Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks its work for me but what is the problem with SSL .please can you me tell me in detail
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Now that you have access to Web Host Manager, you may want to install a firewall management utility such as CSF:

    ConfigServer Security & Firewall (csf)

    This is designed for cPanel & WHM, so installing it will ensure the common ports are opened in the firewall rules.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page