The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

unable to add "www" domains?!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by www.tl, Nov 10, 2013.

  1. www.tl

    www.tl Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi all,

    I think cPanel is great, but i'd like to know why it doesn't allow webmasters to add/or use domain names where the 2nd level aspect (of the overall domain) is "www".

    The particular domain I am referring to is: www.tl, and it just comes up with an error each time, saying that "www" is unnecessary.

    I've tried everything... redirects, parking the name, but the root problem is that cPanel just won't allow me to add this domain.

    Any ideas?

    Thank you,
     
  2. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. cplogin

    cplogin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well you actually can't make domain names. You can create sub domains. Also www.ti is just imposible...
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The "www" CNAME is already added to the DNS Zone by default. In addition, an entry for "www" is added as a ServerAlias in the Apache configuration file by default. Thus, you should add a domain name without the "www" prefix and then modify the "www" prefix as necessary if you do not want it to point to the primary domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  5. texo

    texo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: unable to add "www" domains?!

    add the domain as www.www.tl and only the first www will be stripped off.

    - - - Updated - - -

    +===================================+
    | New Account Info |
    +===================================+
    | Domain: www.tl
    | Ip: xx.xx.xx.xx (n)
    | HasCgi: y
    | UserName: wwwwww
    | PassWord: xxxxxxxxx
    | CpanelMod: x3
    | HomeRoot: /home
    | Quota: unlimited Meg
    | NameServer1: ns1.xx.com
    | NameServer2: ns2.xx.com
    | NameServer3:
    | NameServer4:
    | Contact Email:
    | Package: default
    | Feature List: default
    | Language: en
    +===================================+
    ...Done
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: unable to add "www" domains?!

    You can open a bug report if you feel there should be an exception to the "www" rule for certain domain TLDs:

    Submit A Bug Report

    You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page