The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to configure WHM on my server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by correctsearch, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. correctsearch

    correctsearch Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a dedicated server with Fedora Core2 and cPanel. I have been using it for more than 2 years without any problem. Recently I have tried to upgrade mySQL from 4.0 to 4.1 and got error message for missing mySQL.sock file. Then I have decided to reformat and reinstall cPanel on my server.

    My ISP has installed Fedora Core2 and cPanel on my server but I am unable to configure WHM l because I am getting following error message

    "Unable to read /etc/quota.conf, permission denied"

    It simply hangs on this page and can not move to next page.

    Can someone help me resolve this issue?
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    What are the permissions and ownership on /etc/quota.conf?
     
  3. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    first of all, don't use fedora2.

    it's obsolete, there are no more updates.

    The distro of choice for cpanel seems to be centos(4.3 at the moment), i would go with that.

    Second, if you insist on fixing fc2, login to ssh and

    touch /etc/quota.conf
    happened to me a few times, the file wasn;t there at all.
     
  4. maverick23

    maverick23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    just check for the file quota.conf and make sure that the partitions are mounted with quota enabled.
     
  5. correctsearch

    correctsearch Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  6. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have this issue also. But nothing seems to work that has been posted.
     
  7. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This seemed to fixed itself after I added a domain to the system and the drive that was having the issues.

    Tracy
     
Loading...

Share This Page